Replacing mobo in emachines T2825

Status
Not open for further replies.
I read a thread from several months ago originated by miso_ohio about a mobo/ps problem with the emachine T2825 model. I have the same problem and am considering replacing mine as well.

I am a beginner at mobo replacement. What steps are required after replacing the mobo to get the pc running again? Is it difficult to deal with on a pc like emachines? I assume that once the mobo is replaced that the OS on the hd will provide the boot info as before; is this a bad assumption?

oakdad :confused:

It's not that difficult to do but it's not something I would recommend for a user who's never done things like this.

Basically, you would remove everything from the motherboard, CPU, RAM, PCI cards, etc. Then disconnect any cables and connectors. Put the new mobo in and reconnect everything.

Complications can certainly arise so it's best to have someone who is knowledgable take a look at what you have first. It could be that the case uses some kind of proprietary connections. You also need a mobo that works with the PSU you have. You also have to be sure that the connector plate on the back of the case can be replaced if your new mobo has different connections.

According to Emachines site, that system uses an NForce2 motherboard for an AMD XP 2800. It's pretty easy to find a motherboard that is the same or similar to that one.

If you are somewhat "tech-smart", you can do it. I'd recommend getting your new board from a big company like MSI or ASUS, as their user manuals tend to be fairly well written and easy to understand.

Search the internet for "installing motherboard" and read a few "how to" articles.