Replacing my CPU, need assistance

Status
Not open for further replies.

karl hogarth

I am upgrading my single for a dual core. I have read how to physically replace the CPU but what i need to know is what mods should i do to the system ?

It has been suggested that i do a clean install so the system recognises the new hardware which sounds smart to me. Do i need to change BIOS or anything else or is it a case of installing the CPU and booting it up.

this is my first attempt at something so "techy".

cheers

A,B,C,D or E; all of the above.........?

You really haven't posted any information necessary to even begin to make suggestions. Who's single core? What motherboard? Like that.

my computer has an ASUS A8N-E motherboard running an AMD single core socket 939 CPU. 1GB ram.
I have purchased an AMD Toledo dual core 2mb L2 cache to install. Do any changes need to be made or will it plug and play ?

(I have never done this before. The store where i bought the system say they will not install the CPU if it is not purchased from them, and they cannot get socket 939 Toledo dual core which is why i went to ebay to get it.)

Ooops......

I'm not an AMD guy, so much as I would like to, I can't help you.
But, on a brighter note, with the new info I'm sure someone will be along (& able) to help you.
Since these are both 64 bit processors, I suspect you can swap them without other changes, but it would still pay you to wait for a 2nd (or 3rd) opinion.

I think it should just be a remove-and-install procedure, nothing really major. Might want to hold off formatting the computer unless there's a problem. Usually its the motherboard replacement that will need a reformat, but people usually change motherboards and processors at the same time, so I'm not too sure. Nothing to lose by formatting it when trouble arises, instead of immediately, but if you want to reformat, thats good as well.