Restarting error 0X000000D1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thorrax

Hello Friends,

This is my first time here, so I hope I am in the right place.

After doing much research on the 0x000000d1 error message that I am now getting because my system keeps restarting, I found this link to this website

www.techspot.com/vb/all/windows/t-30662-DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL-STOP-0x000000D1.html

But, I did not see that there was a solution to the error? My system has been restarting now for a couple weeks and the worst part is, it restarts when I am doing the most work on my computer. I lose everything because even with continuous "safes" I still seem to lose websites I might be using for research and so on.

If I run this program that I have been reading in that thread "hijackthis" what will it show? How do I get it? Is it free?

Ok, here is my system: AMD 64x2 4600 2.4GHz dual core, SLI with 2 - GT7900 video cards, main hard drive 160gig, secondary hard drive 360 gigs. Running Windows XP Pro, 2 gigs of ram.

The only changes I made before this problem occured was the installation of 2 more gigs of ram. The problem I seen when I done this was, after installing the ram (yes correctly), it showed I had 3.25gigs of usable ram, why did it not show 4 gigs? My system can handle 8 gigs of ram. Then after I got the first error message about one week later, I took the ram out thinking it might of had a bad chip, but that was not the case as the problem still exists. I am still hesitating on re-installing the ram again until the issue is resolved.

Someone suggested to me at work to just reinstall Windows, but I am not satisfied with that answer just yet.

If anyone can offer a solution to the problem, I would be very grateful.

Thank you

Thorrax

Most likely cause is defective memory. Go back to your old dimm, and you will find it works correctly. Get your memory replaced under warranty, unless you didn' t us gloves and protection.