Restarts.

Status
Not open for further replies.

G-Dog

My box has started restarting at random. I built this PC almost a year and a half ago, and it has been nothing but stable until now. I just re-installed XP, and all my drivers are running the latest versions.

Athlon XP 3000 939
Asus a8n sli deluxe
Nvidia 6600GT
x2 512 OCZ 3200
Maxtor HD's
Lite-On DVDR
Antec 400W PS

As I said, this machine has been nothing but good to me for the past 15 months, and it just started this crap about a week ago. After googling my **** off, I found this site. I searched for *.dmp, but only found one file relating to tonights reboot (attached). I read the 'before posting' guide, and my PS is running fine under load. Also, in my events, I found...

Error code 100000ea, parameter1 85502020, parameter2 8625f4b8, parameter3 f78b6cb4, parameter4 00000001.

Go easy on me. I'm a designer and gamer that knows just enough about PC's to build them. I've never been very technical, more a monkey see, monkey do type geek.

That particular dump seems to point to watchdog.sys.

BugCheck 100000EA, {85502020, 8625f4b8, f78b6cb4, 1}
Type referenced: win32k!DEFERRED_WATCHDOG
Probably caused by : watchdog.sys ( watchdog+a67 )

Since this is part of Windows, the first thing you want to do is probably make sure you are up to date. Install all the latest service packs and critical and even recommended updates from MS Updates.
If you are up to date, next try running the System File Checker. To do that, click Start->Run and type sfc /scannow and hit enter.
When that is done, restart the PC. It may ask you for your XP CD, so keep it handy.

Do those things, and see if it crashes again. If so, post your fresh minidumps.
You can also do some more googling on the watchdog.sys file, and your bugcheck of "0x100000EA".

Good luck!