TechSpot

Reusing old 2k account names

By junja
Jan 31, 2008
  1. Anyone know if one can restore an old user
    name and account? My 2k snarled itself up
    and I had to reinstal it afresh.

    When creating a user, it didn't reuse the old
    folders of the same name, though it left them on
    the disk. It created new ones, appending:

    - .<computer name> to the user account name
    - ".WINNT" to the All Users account name

    At the limit, that's bearable.

    But in practice it's now inconsistent - using the
    the startup menu in the new account but setting
    %username% to the old name but %userprofile% to
    the new one. And showing the old name in the
    Users section of the Control Panel. All of which
    makes maintenance a nightmare.

    Is there any way of reverting to the old folders?

    Presumably deleting a user account and starting
    again is possible but it would mean reinstalling
    everything in \Application Data into the new one ?

    Though that's probably not an option for the All
    Users account.

    Any tips anyone? (I know I can reformat the disk
    and start again, but I've wasted enough time
    already.)

    Don't you just love MacroMonsta ??
    Junja
     
  2. Nodsu

    Nodsu TS Rookie Posts: 5,837   +6

    The folder for the userdata for a user is stored in the system registry. You can delete the old profile dir and rename the new one to its normal form, then change the registry entry.

    The registry key is: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList

    Under this you have SID entries for all the users that have logged in to this system. Under every SID you have the ProfileImagePath value that points to the user's profile dir.
     
  3. junja

    junja TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 22

    Thanks Nodsu
    I'll do that.
    Junja
     
  4. junja

    junja TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 22

    Just for the record, I managed to alter the user name and account back to what it had been but not the All Users.WINNT - which 2k remaned back to All Users.WINNT straight afterwards.

    Perhaps if I'd done this straight after reinstallation ..
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...