Router vs switch?

Status
Not open for further replies.

monton

I need to set up a windows based network with a server and up to 18 PCs. Should I get a router or a switch? How are they different? As you can tell I am a rank beginner in the networking field... sorta. Having fully mastered the use of a mouse I, by default, have become the IT guru for the small retail company I work for.

I have set up a wired 4 port netgear router and expanded it with a D-Link 8 port switch without any problems. The new network will have all new hardware.

Anything at the basic level on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, M

What for and how you use your network are very important in answering this question.

The first thing is switches and routers do two different things. Routers act as a bridge (or 'gateway') to the Internet with technologies like NAT and often act as DHCP servers, making network configuration automatic for all of your computers. And don't forget the other thousand things they provide, such as firewalls, filters, schedules and more. Out of courtesy, most home office routers have a built-in hub or switch giving you 4-5 ports or so.... But buying a 20 port router isn't necessary or even recommended..

Switches are very basic and fairly dumb, although more efficient than hubs (which are not recommended). Simplified, about all they do is 'plug stuff up' together. Switches do not 'route' Internet traffic or provide firewalls etc..., which means if you want all of your computers to get online or have other advanced network features, you still need to have a router / gateway.