Router working, but no internet

Status
Not open for further replies.
I hope this is the right place for this question - I've never used one of these forums before. But I have been scouring them for answers to my problem, to no avail so far. So here it is, with all the info I can think of:

I'm running a PC with XP and a Netgear wireless adapter and router-modem. It is all working properly and I can connect to the internet on it.

I'm also running an Acer Travelmate 2300 laptop with XP. This can find the router and shows an excellent connection to it either wireless or wired, but it cannot access the internet either way. Until the day before we moved to a new house it was working perfectly on our old network.

Here is what I have tried so far following phone calls to the ISP and Netgear and lots of searching in forums:

Trying it wireless and wired.
Lots of turning on and off and rebooting.
Installing Firefox and trying that instead
scanning for viruses, trojans etc (it was up to date with Avira and Malbytes or whatever it was called)
Turning firewall off.
Turning virus protection off.
Deleting Norton with the complete removal tool (this seems to have worked for lots of people writing in forums)
Deleting Avira.
Deleting Malware Malbytes.
Netsh int ip reset commands
Ipconfig release and renew commands
Running Winsockxpfix
checking the internet settings - it is set to obtain ip address and dns server automatically, it is not set to use a proxy server

Let me say again that it can find the router. It can ping the router. But it cannot ping e.g. yahoo.com.

Here are its ipconfig results when it is running wireless:

connection-specific dns suffix:
ip address: 192.168.0.4
subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
default gateway: 192.168.0.1