Running D-Link G520 wirelles card on Linux 2.4.22 succesfully

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToRN

I noticed there where a lot of people having trouble getting this card to run in Linux. Mostly because the information on the net wasn't correct (which shouldn't be the case anymore :).

Anyway, If anyone is interested to know how, just post something in this tread and I will get you all the info.

How?

Can you tell me how you did it? I've been trying for two weeks and aboot to give up. I'm brand new to linux but the LDP or any other Howtos aren't helping. I've tried it w/ the MadWiFi driver and aslo the ISL drivers. I can't get anything to work. Please let me know what else i can do. Thanx.

Help needed

Hello,

I have Linux Red Hat9 with D-Link Wrieless pci card DWL G520 and i have some problems to configure it.
I'm interesting to know your method to configure correctly my card.

Please contact me at malgras@yahoo.com

Thanks

Alexandre.

Here are a few mails that were sent over concerning the install of the card:

The D-Link G520 (not 520) has an atheros chipset and therefore needs the
madwifi drivers. To find those drivers you can do a google search or
check sourceforge.

Start by downloading the drivers and unpack them in a temporary
directory. Be sure you have you're kernel source installed on the
system. If the source is in the default directory, you won't need to
edit the makefile, otherwise you will have to specify the correct path
to the kernel source. Do a make and 3 files will be compiled. Make
Install will copy those to the correct module directories (still
assuming they are default (lib modules)).

After that you need to load the 3 modules in a certain order with the
driver (ath_pci) as last. So for example

as root:

modprobe wlan (load wlan module)
modprobe ath_hal (load hal module)
modprobe ath_pci (load driver)
iwconfig ath0 key yourkeyinhexadecimal (or: s:yourkeyinasci) (load wep