Sata dvdrw crashes computer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, i need a little help. I am not an expert but do have a reasonable idea of computers. I recently purchased samsung dvdrw with sata connection. I had two dvd drives that had ide connection. Disconnected one of the dvd drives, it was faulty and hooked up th e new one. so now there is two drives, one ide and one sata. Booted up computer and it crashes.

So i changed the jumpers on the ide drive as it was the slave(the one i had removed had been the master) and made it the primary master. The harddrive is secondary master. The new dvd rw is connected to the sata 1 connection, making it the 3rd master or something like that. Still crashing and not even picking up the sata ODD. I changed the sata connection to the 2nd sata slot still the same. I went into the bios and changed the sata settings from raid to ide and turned on computer. Now it picks up the new odd but still crashes. In the bios i now have, ide primary master original dvd ide secondary master harddrive ide 3rd master new dvd.

Im right to say that harddrive and dvd drives cant be slaves of each other and neither can ide and sata connected devices?

i have played with the boot priority and order so that the comp only boots from original dvd and harddrive. still crashing. The only thing i can do at the moment to stop the blue screen of death is to unplug the new dvd.

Motherboard is asus ave8-e se and running amd 3500+ athlon with windows xp. Anyway whenever the sata dvd is plugged in after booting for a short while i get blue screen of death saying
bad_pool_header and stop:0x00000019 followed by a few other long numbers in brackets.

surely i must be able to add a sata dvdrw to my system. im probably missing something simple.

any help would be greatly appreciated
Gravity121

You know it's hard to read all that, and after reading it twice, I thought I'd just post the correct sequence.

IDE 0
Master=ATA HDD
Slave=ATA DVD