Sennheiser HD280 Pro

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok so i'm an absolute newb when it comes to headphones and headphone technology, but im getting a nice pair of cans for christmas (I have a $100-$200 budget, but the $200 is pushing it, id prolly have to pay for some of that). I was looking at the Sennheiser HD280 Pro and was wondering what opiniong you guys may have of them. I have relatively poor hearing in that I cannot discern the differnce between 192 and 160kbps in MP3s. I mostly listen to trance, progressive, that sort of thing, so im looking for a pair of cans that have a good 'bass response' (I dont know if that makes any sense, im a newb I just know that in trance, the bass line is critical to sound). At any rate what info can you guys give me about these headphones. Another thing is, and im sure you'll all grill me for this, but looks are important to me, I do not like the look of grados, and say what you want, if im spending $200 on a pair of headphones I want them to look nice .. case closed =P. But yeah any advice you can give on these headphones, things I should look for for my needs, etc. assuming that for the time I will not be purchasing an amp. They will be used mostly for travelling (though sometimes at the comp).
What do you guys think of open back vs. closed headphones in this respect, as well? O and the source is either my sony minidisc player (MZ-RH910) or my comp for music and the occasional gaming (not FPS, so environmental changes in sound like ... is there gunfire left, right, in front, etc. does not maatter) on a SB Audigy 2 ZS.

That headseat does not have a very heavy bass line but it's very impermeable to the outside world. They're the kind of earphones you'd want if you live in a very noisy environment (subways nearby, etc.).

You might be better off looking in Sennheiser's DJ earphones.