Serious directX issue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there,
Introducing myself...
I'm Luc from Amsterdam, Holland. I'm a student for "graphic design" and "interaction design". 20yrs old and not a noob to computers but i'm not a real expert either :)
I think that's it.

Ok now the problem...

I'm running a WindowsXP sp2 System
AMD athlon 2000Mhz proccesor
1,5GB ram
256mb GeForce 6600LE (nVidia)
and so on...

Ok at first everything seems perfect, I can play (new) games, do Photoshop and illustrator I can edit in AfterEffects and Flash blablabla...
BUT I CAN'T PLAY ANY VIDEO FORMAT!!! (exept flash video)
Everytime I try to play a video (all codecs are at the system) my system jamms like a rock.. it looks like I have a framerate of 1fps or something. Only when I open the task manager my CPU drops back to 0 (instead of 100%)
and I can close the app.

Ok, it's not the memory (tested that)
it's not the mediaplayer (tried all at the market)
it's not the codec's (tried all formats)
graphicscard seems fine according to the DXDIAG wich says that everything is alright. The Nvidia helpdesk couldn't figure it out either.
I've been on a lot of help site's and I'd tried every trick in the book but nothing seems to help. :mad:

It all worked once until I decided to buy an extra harddrive and re-install Windows.

The only sign I had of what it could be was when I tried to play an divX avi in divX player, it said that I have to re-install my directX, wich I've done tons of times just like re-installing my graphicscard.

Could anybody tell me what to do??

thnx

What version of Direct X are you running? I believe its 9.0c

Have downloaded the full version?

Try running WINMSD on the command line and look in the conflict/sharing area & look for any issues

Hey thank's for the reply, but...
I couldn't find any conflict, the only thing that draw my attention is that my graphicscard driver is named: nv4_mini.sys
what's that "mini" all about?

edit: btw I do have DirectX 9.0c