Silentest Nvidia 6800GT?...

Status
Not open for further replies.

buzz234

Hey all,

Im new here, first post.

Ive been building for 4 years now, try to keep up with everything, but its expsensive!..

Im looking into 6800GTs, have been for a about 3 months now, money issues being at uni(!)

Im wondering what is the quietest 6800GT anyone has seen in operation, and the manufacture of them. I noticed that Gigabyte do a version (non reference board) with the heatsink. is this any good and which card is the quiestest.

I am looking into the silent aspect, as i run a Shuttle SN95G5, if anyone has one, then u'll know that these things are silent as anything! so theres no need to ruin that. therefore (as all GPU's make noise) which is the quiestest youve seen?

many thanks

Buzz

Thanks for your help..

But, Im in the UK so i cant look at oversea products, plus im using a shuttle rig guys! Space is limited! lol.

Which 6800GT is the best performer at the moment would you all say?

I've got a BFG 6800GT OC, and I can't say if it's the best performer, but it's doing a great job for me, plays all game great at high quality settings. I don't bother to do benchmarks.

It's the dual fan settup, and it seems a whole lot quieter than my old 9700 Pro. BUT, I also installed a new Antec power supply at the same time, and it's quieter also. I don't know which made the most difference.

Edit: I don't know if you can get this in the UK though.

Evga 6800 GT

Hi their...not sure how the availability is over where you are....I just put together a new system around New Years. Here on Vancouver Island the new 68oo GT was a little difficult to get.

I ended up getting an EVGA 6800 GT....as for the BFG OC version....?..well...seems you spend an extra $100 to have the Manufactorer Overclock the card.
I downloaded Coolbits and am presently runnng my Gt at Ultra speeds. 410 Mhz / 1.1 Ghz respectively.
Seems to run stable althoguh I have had HL2 crash twice in a couple of months af gaming.