Simple question: Anyone ever open their MS Optical mouse?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mugsy

Simple question: Anyone ever open their Microsoft 5-button Optical mouse?

I need to know if the USB cable simply plugs in inside or if it is soldered to the circuit board.

I have a Microsoft 5-button Optical TRACKBALL that needs repair. One of my kittens bit clean through the wire, splitting it in two. The cable is too complex to simply splice together. I tried. Four wires around a copper core with aluminum shielding. I'm a tech with 25 years experience. If I can't fix it, no one can.

For some inexplicable reason, Microsoft stopped making their excellent trackballs. The few that are left sell for two-three times as much on eBay as I paid for mine years ago. I bought a Logitech wireless trackball as a replacement, but I hate it. The buttons are badly placed, I keep accidentally bumping the ball whenever I try to Right-click something, and the batteries only last two weeks before I must recharge them (I use my computer a lot).

Opening the MS trackball up, I found that the cable simply ends in a plastic socket that simply plugs into the circuit board. You can no longer find parts for the trackball, but MS still makes their mouse. If the cable inside their mouse is a match, I can simply buy one for $10 and cannibalize it for the cable.

But I'd like to know before I waste the $10. So:

Anyone here ever open their Microsoft 5-button Optical mouse and can confirm whether or not the cable inside just plugs in?

Thanks.