TechSpot

Slow Gaming, especially Splinter Cell (PC)

By JonCalvinMoore
Nov 12, 2003
  1. Hello, I just bought a new system and filled out all my specs via the forum registration process. It seems I get slow frame rates for the game. I spent over 1000 dollars for this system and for what, basically it's the same gaming speed as my 800 MhZ AMD Athlon T-Bird. It's stupid, someone help me out. Just a note, I'm using a 300W power supply because my 400 fried, would this be a big issue?

    Thanks,

    Jon

    Here are my specs for the lazy (not reading my profile) :

    Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 800 FSB
    Motherboard ASUS P4C800
    Memory Dual 1024 Mushkin DDR 400
    Cooling Premium Full Fin Copper Heatsink
    Videocard BFG Asylum Geforce FX 5600 256 MB AGP 8x
    Soundcard/Speakers Sound Blaster Live 5.1 Gamer
    Hard Disk(s) 120 Maxtor Diamond Max +9 8MB Cache 7200 RPM
     
  2. Th3M1ghtyD8

    Th3M1ghtyD8 TechSpot Paladin Posts: 664

    What resolution/detail settings are you running in?
    What DirectX Version and Graphics Card Drivers are you running?
    What version of Windows are you using?
     
  3. JonCalvinMoore

    JonCalvinMoore TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Oh sorry for that, those are key elements. I'm running DX 9, the newest Nvidia Drivers, the ForceWare 52.16, and everything is high. The resolution, which makes no difference in speed with Splinter Cell, is 1024x768, I get the same frame drops, especially in the training mode, the first level with all that lighting. I am running Windows XP Professional Edition running all the lastest patches, updates, etc. Please help me! :)
     
  4. Th3M1ghtyD8

    Th3M1ghtyD8 TechSpot Paladin Posts: 664

    Are you able to try some slightly older NVIDIA drivers (remember newer does not always mean faster).

    Also check your advanced graphics card settings, and check to see if anti-aliasing is turned on or not, and whether your graphics card is set to quality mode or performance mode in both Direct3D and openGL settings.

    Other than that I don't really know what else to suggest.
     
  5. JonCalvinMoore

    JonCalvinMoore TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Alright, I'm going to try the (NVIDIA display software update released on July 28 2003.) Drivers that I found coming up after I uninstalled the force-ware drivers. Also, everything was on Quality, and that is what I paid for, I mean, 3.0 GHZ FSB 800 with a gig of memory DDR 400, come on, I should be getting killer speeds right? Again, could it be my 300W power supply? Would that be an issue?
     
  6. vassil3427

    vassil3427 TS Rookie Posts: 640

    I would consider a better PSU, with that system sucking as much juice as it does, one of these days you'll wake up to the smell of a burning capacitor...
     
  7. JonCalvinMoore

    JonCalvinMoore TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Well the drivers didn't work, so that is a no go. Don't know what the problem is, however, I'm about to get FutureMark and see what score I get. Thankyou all for your input. What would you recommend for a PSU? Should I go 400/500, 600 Maybe for the hell of it? I know I only need about 350-400, but it would be nice to have, well anyway, any suggestions?
     
  8. NoisySilence

    NoisySilence TS Rookie Posts: 98

    Everything in your system specs is high end, except the graphic card. A 5600 ( not even Ultra ) is very slow. It's slower then a 4200 in most cases & has for only advantage the DX9 functions.

    Check the scores on that page. The 5600 Ultra rarely goes above 30FPS.

    http://www.beyond3d.com/previews/nvidia/nv36/index.php?p=13

    On the other hand, if your system hovers around 10-15 FPS, then yes, you certainly have a problem.
     
  9. schizoid77

    schizoid77 TS Rookie Posts: 113

    I run a 5600 Ultra(with the 52.16 drivers) on a 2.26ghz Pentium 4 XP Home and I play Splinter Cell at 1280 x 1024 with everything set to high and with 2x Anti-Aliasing and I have no problems with framerate.
    Maybe u have something hogging your system....I'm down to 18 running processes when I play games...
     
  10. JonCalvinMoore

    JonCalvinMoore TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Ok, I ran TestDemo2 for all you Splinter Cell players on PC and this is what I get: It was an Excel file, but I converted it to a notepad file.

    AVERAGE FPS MIN FPS MAX FPS RESOLUTION SHADOWLEVEL SHADOWRESOLUTION EFFECTSQUALITY SHADOWMODE NUM FRAMES MAP NAME TIMESTAMP

    24.875557 13.267681 81.441754 1024x768 LOW LOW LOW BUFFER 1960 1_1_1Tbilisi 11/11/03 04:42:02
    20.025681 12.076473 27.881334 640x480 HIGH HIGH VERYHIGH BUFFER 390 1_1_1Tbilisi 11/11/03 04:42:43
    24.830697 24.780768 24.907250 800x600 HIGH HIGH VERYHIGH BUFFER 50 1_1_1Tbilisi 11/11/03 04:42:53
    20.914942 20.308962 21.259590 1024x768 HIGH HIGH VERYHIGH BUFFER 130 1_1_1Tbilisi 11/11/03 04:43:06
    30.815802 17.030930 57.453111 1024x768 LOW LOW LOW BUFFER 1100 2_2_1_Kalinatek 11/11/03 04:45:09
    25.545525 10.038421 78.600250 640x480 HIGH HIGH VERYHIGH PROJECTOR 1960 1_1_1Tbilisi 11/11/03 05:07:21
    22.261451 10.857527 87.644704 800x600 HIGH HIGH VERYHIGH BUFFER 1960 1_1_1Tbilisi 11/11/03 05:08:56

    I can get up to 80 frames in the benchmark, but in the game, I only get like 20-30. I'm trying Future Mark next.
     
  11. JonCalvinMoore

    JonCalvinMoore TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I got 1965 on FutureMark, is that good?
     
  12. LNCPapa

    LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,210   +424

    Everything I have read about Splinter Cell performance shows tells me that your video card is the only thing slowing your performance. The game appears to be a beast (I don't have it on the PC so I don't know.) I've never seen anyone get really high frame rates on any bench results I've come across. I truly believe your 5600 (the slowest thing on your machine) is the problem.
     
  13. Didou

    Didou Bowtie extraordinair! Posts: 4,274

    If you were to click on the link provided by NS, you would've noticed that the framerates you're getting is pretty much the most you'll be getting out of that card.

    Don't let the Ultra denomination fool you, it's nothing but Ultra slow.:dead:
     
  14. JonCalvinMoore

    JonCalvinMoore TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Well I'm returning everything back to Frys, the mobo, the ram, the cpu, etc and will probably just buy an Alienware, as I guess I don't want to deal with config all the settings, etc, unless I find a good site with all of that dedicated to PC Gaming, etc. What card do you guys think I should get, ATI, or Nvidia?
     
  15. JonCalvinMoore

    JonCalvinMoore TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I just bought a Leaktek A350 5900 and it's still slow around the lighting, everytime it has max lighting, it's slow, but other then that, it's fine! WTF!@
     
  16. Didou

    Didou Bowtie extraordinair! Posts: 4,274

  17. EfaustuS9

    EfaustuS9 TS Rookie

  18. Didou

    Didou Bowtie extraordinair! Posts: 4,274

Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...