Some URLs time out. Most aspx pages

By stuffdone
Jul 29, 2008
  1. I have had a major problem accessing banking sites recently. This is not related to specific browser because I have tried them all on two computers both running Win2K.

    I can log in with my user name and password ok. However when I then click a link to a banking feature such as to view statements etc. the page never loads and after a long wait I just get a "page cannot be loaded" ( IE ) Or in Firefox is says "Connection to Server was reset"

    I am using Comcast Cable Modem. A Linksys 8 port router. Two computers connected via KVM plus network printer, VoIP phone and a linux backup server.

    All networking is functional. I have tried with AntiVirus and Firewalls on and off with no difference. The problem progressed from blocking me from my Comcast account to WaMu bank and now to another bank. Most of my credit card accounts online seem to work ok but I think most use linux servers.

    Most of these cases the page extension seems to be .aspx extensions that will not load.

    I have 128 bit encryption turned on in all browsers. Have tried IE 6+, Firefox 3, Netscape, Safari, Opra, Flock, and SeaMonkey. Not one browser will allow me to follow the links in question.

    This is getting serious because it affects my online banking.
  2. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Try CCleaner to remove all your temp cache stuff

    Actually back up (remember all your login names and passswords) and try this (just for IE) The way I look at it, is get IE to work first (as default), then worry about the others. (and network and other things) I have to explain this, don't know why

    How to use Reset Internet Explorer Settings (RIES)

    To use RIES in Internet Explorer 7, follow these steps:

    1. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options.
    2. On the Advanced tab, click Reset.
    3. In the Reset Internet Explorer Settings dialog box, click Reset.
    4. When Internet Explorer 7 finishes restoring the default settings, click Close, and then click OK two times.
    5. Close Internet Explorer 7. The changes take effect the next time that you open Internet Explorer 7.
  3. stuffdone

    stuffdone TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Did it. IE 6 not 7

    Using IE 6.0.2800.1106

    Have never found a version 7 for Windows 2000.
    Did the reset ( Restore Defaults ) but makes no difference.
  4. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Oh 2000

    If you are running Windows 2000 and wish to upgrade to 128-bit encryption, you must download the Windows 2000 High Encryption Pack.

    Also found: Internet Explorer 7 will not run on Windows 2000

    So that's clear!

    Ok so that's done!

    Try: (at the command prompt, also pressing enter after each line)
    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /flushdns
    ipconfig /registerdns
    ipconfig /renew
    net stop "DNS Client"
    net start "DNS Client"

    Also try with your firewall off (we won't worry about widows firewall :rolleyes: )
  5. stuffdone

    stuffdone TS Rookie Topic Starter

    No luck

    The net start command was not recognized at all. Tried net start, netstart, net_start all with same results.
  6. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

  7. stuffdone

    stuffdone TS Rookie Topic Starter

    net stop/start

    Ok. I read and it worked re. starting and stopping. However did nothing to resolve the problem. ( syntax issue )
  8. stuffdone

    stuffdone TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Strange. I tried the net user command and it listed administrator but logged on as guest?
  9. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Doh! Mine says : The command completed with one or more errors.

    But Administrator account had guest next to it

    Anyway, we might be going down the wrong path

    To fully confirm all files are intact, you could run this:

    sfc /scannow

    at the command prompt
    Actually does that work in 2000?
  10. stuffdone

    stuffdone TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Does no good

    That just pops up a window asking for my SP4 CD. SP4 is all automatic updates downloaded. There is and never was a CD.
  11. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Yes but it will only "pop up" if there are issues (missing or non verified) system files on your system.

    I wonder if it's best to backup, and think about re-install
    Is this too extreme?
  12. stuffdone

    stuffdone TS Rookie Topic Starter

    reinstall very problamatic

    I really don't want to re-install because of all the programs I use and the fact that it could take me down for a day to do.

    That also does not explain two separate computers with the identical problem.

    I could re-install on the second computer I suppose as it is a backup.

    Biggest problem with re-install is most of my program disks are still boxed in storage from my move.

    Would be a major undertaking without knowing if it would even solve the problem.

    I find it difficult to understand why this would be happening, mostly with web sites running ASP pages but not others.
  13. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    2 computers?

    No original message about both computers doing the same thing.

    Why have I posted support on one computer?

    You will need to plug one in at a time to the router
    Still the same?
    This must be either a Router or Internet Server issue
    Have you spoken to your provider? (Maybe you have a web spam service going on)
  14. stuffdone

    stuffdone TS Rookie Topic Starter


    Actually it was my ISP's web site that first presented the problem. I spoke to advanced support at Comcast and they just say it has to be my problem.

    When I get a break I will try taking the router out of the stream to see what happens.
  15. gbhall

    gbhall TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,423   +77

    Try researching on cookies, their permissions, and the hosts file. Deleting and rebuilding your access permission cookies might help.

    On the other hand, it could be changes to the whole way in which TCPIP is handled has changed and the changes have not filtered down to 2K. I noticed in fact that MS critical update of July 08 Windows Update (KB951748) = No internet for lots of people. Viewing the update description on tells you that very, very significant changes to fundamental bits of DNS handling have taken place recently, and lo ! there are updates for Win2K too !
  16. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,158   +599

    try these tests to separate TCP issues from Browser, Website issues.

    PING will show you can talk tcp and NSLOOKUP will tell you if a URL can be translated
    properly into the corresponding IP address.

    IF both PING and NSLOOKUP are running w/o timeouts, then it's in your browser or system.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...