Still learning how to reply to a post and follow threads.

GRich

I'm new to techspot and found myself disoriented to how replies are organized. I wish there was a better way to know if I'm doing it right as well as keeping tabs to which posts I have replied to.
On a separate note, I have had two replies deleted because I supposedly made a duplicate reply. However, I'm usually very good at keeping each remark original and fresh. I'm concerned that the way a reply is handled may be causing unintended confusion. For instance, I noticed that when I reply, a copy of the thread is placed above comment for which to see who I am replying to. After posting my reply, if I add another comment as an addendum, then I have concerns on whether to reply to the original comment or reply to my reply. My concern here is if I'm using transitional phrases to link my comments, do I have to add additional comments to prevent losing my reader. I also noticed that I replied to a comment specific to one person and received an answer out of context by someone else. Additionally, I tried to find help with replying to comments on techspot and found the thread no longer available.

I'm new to techspot and found myself disoriented to how replies are organized. I wish there was a better way to know if I'm doing it right as well as keeping tabs to which posts I have replied to.
First we need to determine if you're working in the forum mode, and not off the "front page". I'm guessing you do use the forum, but you still need to reassure us that's the case.

As far as, "keeping track of threads you've replied to" goes, in the forum mode your screen name will be in the upper right hand corner, hovering the mouse cursor over your name will show you what the heck is going on with the thread(s) in which you're participating. Somebody replied, somebody "liked" your post, somebody quoted your post, your post was removed for cause, it's all there.