TechSpot

Strange not-so-random bsod's

By heshhesh
Nov 2, 2005
  1. Well after thinking that I fixed my bsod problems from a previous post by removing cachemanxp.exe by uninstall, but the computer keeps on having bsod's.

    I've tried switching out my ram strips, but the error keeps occurring.

    The strange thing about it is that the computer reboots into a black screen stall from which I have to reboot again to enter windows and believe this causes me to lose the minidump. Therefore, alas, I do not have any minidumps to provide except for two that appeared before the computer started rebooting into a black screen stall:

    zip file with 2 minidumps...
    https://webspace.utexas.edu/ar234948/Mini102305-01.zip?uniq=fyyx3i

    The error occurs when

    a) when i tried to go to "open profile" on yahoo messenger
    b) when i tried to open videos from the internet in my browser,
    c) if the aim's today window opens
    d) sometimes when trying to open links in aim profiles (but not always)
    e) sometimes when trying to open links from aim messenger (but not always)

    Version 7.0.0.437 Yahoo Msg
    Version 5.9 Aim Msg
    Running Mozilla Firefox v 1.0.7

    The bsod's only seem to occur when doing certain things, but I can't find the connection between the programs and/or my actions on the computer in relation to the problem.

    1.5 ghz AMD
    Geforce 2 graphics card
    internal 60, 120 GB
    external 233, 233, 80 GB
    512 ram ((2) 256 strips)
    Maddog 7 in 1 dvdrw
     
  2. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Try uninstalling the CachemanXP programme, and see if your system becomes more stable.

    Regards Howard :) :)
     
  3. heshhesh

    heshhesh TS Rookie Topic Starter

    already said and done ;-)

    "Well after thinking that I fixed my bsod problems from a previous post by removing cachemanxp.exe by uninstall, but the computer keeps on having bsod's." -- I already uninstalled cachemanxp.exe... ;)
     
  4. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Though you have uninstalled the programme the cachemanxp.exe is still showing up in your minidumps.

    click start/run and type services.msc into the run box, and press the enter key. when the services window appears, maximise it, and look for cachemanxp.exe.

    Right click on it, and if it is running select stop. Now select properties, and change the startup type to disabled. Click apply/ok

    Regards Howard :)
     
  5. heshhesh

    heshhesh TS Rookie Topic Starter

    hmm... interesting

    The two minidumps were taken after the uninstall of cachemanxp.exe, and I ran services.msc I could not find it listed there.
     
  6. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Well, for whatever reason it`s still in your system.

    Do a search on your computer for cachemanxp.exe, and delete it if you can. Make sure to search inside hidden folders.

    You might want to create a system restore point before you do this, just in case of unforseen problems.

    Regards Howard :) :)
     
  7. heshhesh

    heshhesh TS Rookie Topic Starter

  8. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    No sign of cacheman.exe in your HJT log.

    Let HJT fix these entries.

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page =
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://:/
    R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
    O18 - Filter: text/html - {3551784B-E99A-474f-B782-3EC814442918} - (no file)

    I think you need to do the search I suggested.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  9. heshhesh

    heshhesh TS Rookie Topic Starter

    file not found ;-)

    did a search, even for hidden files and no cachemanxp.exe

    ...and fixed the few items you suggested
     
  10. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    I`ve just checked you minidumps again, and both of them are from the 23/10/05.

    I think this is from before you uninstalled cachemanXP.

    You previous thread is dated 25/10/05

    http://www.techspot.com/vb/showthread.php?t=35908

    Have you uploaded the wrong minidumps?

    Regards Howard :) :)
     
  11. heshhesh

    heshhesh TS Rookie Topic Starter

    perhaps a everest log?

    A friend and I uninstalled the program and then collected the two minidumps afterwards... its a bit confusing to me also...

    I ran Everest you can see the log file below, i just took out the wireless network/ip info, the rest is there. Thought it might help, although its a big file - 276 Kb.

    https://webspace.utexas.edu/ar234948/Report2.txt?uniq=fz3k85

    perhaps some other software would be useful to run?
     
  12. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    I`m sorry, but I can`t help you if you don`t provide me with your latest minidumps.

    The minidumps are deffinitely from 23/10/05 which is before you uninstalled cachemanXP. That is why they are showing cachemanXP as the culprit.

    Your Everest log is of no use to me whatsoever.

    If your computer is still crashing, then your minidumps are what I need.

    Regards Howard :cool:
     
  13. heshhesh

    heshhesh TS Rookie Topic Starter

    okay but...

    The strange thing about it is that the computer reboots into a black screen stall from which I have to reboot again to enter windows and believe this causes me to lose the minidump.

    Is there a way to keep the minidump after the computer bsod's?
     
  14. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    I`m afraid I don`t know the answer to your question.

    Maybe cpc2004 will have other suggestions.

    Regards Howard :) :)
     
  15. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,994

    Hi,

    No mninidump and system event 1001/1003 has the important diagnostic information.

    Control Panel -> Adminstrative Tools -> Event Viewer -> System -> Event 1001/1003. Copy the content and paste it back here
     
  16. heshhesh

    heshhesh TS Rookie Topic Starter

  17. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,994

    Hi heshhesh,

    No useful information is found at the event log. Probably it is hardware problem. Reseat the memory module and video card. Make sure your PC is not overheat.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...