TechSpot

strangely low frame rate

By Skater9000
Nov 23, 2006
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. im sure this type of thread has been discussed so many times before but Im really confused here. I love to play countersytike source bf2 bf2142 and all those great games out there and so I shelled out on a brand new leadtek winfast 7600gt, i also added another gig of ram making it 2gb of ddr400 (duel channel memory mode) and yet strangely I only get 30fps during css and day of defeat source. I may not be the best computer expert out there, but I know even with my system I should be getting higher on an aging game such as css. My mate who has exactly the same system as me except he has 1gb of ram, gets 100fps on day of defeat. Has anyone else had this problem and better still, does anyone know how to solve it??
    Thanks in advance
    My system:
    P4 3.0 ghz with ht
    2gb ddr 400 in duel channel memory mode
    Leadtek winfast 7600gt
    tagan 530w psu
    Aspire x-cruiser case (black)
    Sound blaster audigy se
    Windows xp home
    3x 120 gb hdd
    2x optical drives
  2. cfitzarl

    cfitzarl TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,520   +9

    Just out of curiosity, what is your PSU, and what is your friends PSU?
  3. TimeParadoX

    TimeParadoX TS Rookie Posts: 2,438

    Did your friend overclock his computer at all?

    Also maybe he plays at a diffrent resolution / graphic qaulity then you
  4. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    Are you using too much AA and AF??
  5. TimeParadoX

    TimeParadoX TS Rookie Posts: 2,438

    Oh yeah Anti-aliasing lowers your FR really low because it takes up alot of resources to make the game look good and what not
  6. Skater9000

    Skater9000 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 20

    thanks for the quick response. in answer to your questions:
    my friends computer has not been overclocked in anyway
    my resolution is 1280 x 1024 but I lowered it to 1024x768 with no change
    i dont know my friends psu but it is a lower wattage than mine
    my friend has anti aliasing at 4x and mine is at 2x and his antistropic filtering is at 8x and mine is also at 8x and all his graphics have been maxed and the same with mine


    another thing ive tried is reinstalling drivers but ive had no luck with that.


    btw my mobo is agp. will that make a difference??
  7. TimeParadoX

    TimeParadoX TS Rookie Posts: 2,438

    what mobo does he have? PCI / PCI-E or AGP?

    If he has PCI-e he probably has a better videocard then you and if you both have AGP maybe he has done abit of config with his computer and if PCI then I dont know...
  8. Skater9000

    Skater9000 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 20

    his mobo is pci-e but i have the same video card as him (7600gt) but in agp
  9. TimeParadoX

    TimeParadoX TS Rookie Posts: 2,438

    Ahh! that's the reason... PCI-e vs. AGP = PCI-e would win even if they didnt have the same cards ( saying you have a 7600 and he had a 6800 ) because PCI-e has a better clock rate and all that fancy stuff, that's what the x16 / x8 stuff is =P
  10. Skater9000

    Skater9000 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 20

    well i guess i understand why he gets better fps than me, but still ive heard agp users with much worse systems than me playing dod:s maxed out and getting 60fps while others get 100fps on css with a radeon 9800 while i cant even get that if i lower all my settings!
    btw do u think my system is even capable of good fps?
  11. TimeParadoX

    TimeParadoX TS Rookie Posts: 2,438

    I would upgrade the PSU to this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817341002

    But if you really want some high FPS on any game upgrade to this:

    Processor

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115005
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Conroe 1.86GHz 2M sharing L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

    Motherboard

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813188009
    eVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

    RAM

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145566
    CORSAIR XMS2 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) x2


    Video Card

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814150150
    XFX PV-T71G-UCF7 GeForce 7900GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail


    Hard Disk Drive

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148140
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

    Power Supply

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817341002
    OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply - Retail

    DVD Burner

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16827152076
    NEC Black 18X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 18X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache E-IDE / ATAPI DVD Burner - OEM

    Sound Card

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829111002
    DIAMOND XtremeSound XS71DDL 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail

    Case ( or keep the one you got because it supports this stuff too but this case has better cooling )

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811133154
    Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail

    Total: $1436 with shipping

    That's my build and I can run even the most demanding games like FEAR and Oblivion on high resolution with ultra qaulity and since I know you love CS I get great FPS on that ( about 90 standard with full qaulity ;) )
     
  12. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    It should make a little difference, but not that much. AGP is still fast enough for most video cards.

    That P4 processor could be bottlenecking a bit the 7600GT. As you might know, P4 processors aren't too good for gaming. But you said that your mate has almost the same system. Same CPU I assume?
  13. Skater9000

    Skater9000 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 20

    yep my mate has exactly the same cpu. just out of curiosity, will formatting my hdd and doing a fresh install of windows help in any way?
  14. Skater9000

    Skater9000 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 20


    thanks for the info. ill have to check that out.
  15. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    You could always try :)
  16. TimeParadoX

    TimeParadoX TS Rookie Posts: 2,438

    Always try stuff you're not sure off :haha:
  17. MetalX

    MetalX TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,909

    Are the drivers installed properly? Try reinstalling them.
  18. Skater9000

    Skater9000 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 20

    due to me living in the past with an agp interface, ive finally decided to get a new system. what do you think of this:
    mobo: ecs nforce 4m a v1.1
    cpu: amd athlon 64 3500+
    graphics card: 7600gt PCI-E
    RAM: 2x 512 pny ddr2 pc2-4300


    is it worth spending money on this upgrade?
  19. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    That looks pretty good, but I'd change that ECS mobo, and get a better one, like a Gigabyte, ASUS, MSI, etc.
  20. TimeParadoX

    TimeParadoX TS Rookie Posts: 2,438

    ASUS is probably your best bet because they have great mobo builds that are SLi-ready... ( get SLI ready even if you dont think you would ever SLI because if you one day want to get the best performance you dont have to buy a new mobo, ram, videocards, Processor so it saves time ;) )

    Also make sure you dont mix ram like DDR2 667 mobo with a DDR2 800 RAM because it will = :hotbounce
  21. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    And you'll finish like this: :confused: :( :unch: lol
  22. javakins

    javakins TS Rookie

    Hey dude, I thought I'd chip in as I've got a similar issue to yours - running a 7600GT on an AGP bus, older P4 (2.66ghz), and framerates are lower than expected on CS:S.

    A new machine would definitely be on the cards for me in the next 6 months or so - but in the meantime, I'd like to get the most out of this one!

    One thing I can contribute to the discussion on the previous page is this: enabling/disabling 4xAA makes hardly any difference to framerates for me (maybe 1 fps or so, if that), which signals that the bottleneck might be elsewhere.

    What sort of 3dmark (01SE and 06) scores do you get?
  23. agi_shi

    agi_shi TS Rookie Posts: 507

    Actually, the DDR2 800 ram will run at DDR2 667 speeds, leaving extra headroom for overclocking.
  24. Skater9000

    Skater9000 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 20


    hey javakins. when i used to have the same procerssor as yours i upgraded to 3.0ghz with ht and there was a very noticeable change in my fps.
    my aquamark 3 score was around 50000
    the processor was definitely a bottleneck so the only thing i can recoommend for you now is to upgrade your processor
  25. Sava69

    Sava69 TS Rookie

    Ok...
    This week i upgradad my old AGP motherboard with Gainward 7600GT Golden Sample 256mb.. When I play Counter Strike Source i get the same or even lower fps than on my old card(Gigabyte 6600-non GT).. I play with all settings set on low without any aa or hdr and i get from 30-80fps- resolution is 800x600... I use the latest nvidia drivers.

    My spec-
    Sempron 3100
    Gigabyte K8NSPRO s754
    1gb DDR400 Kingmax
    PSU Fortron 580w

    In 3dMark03 I get 120003dmarks on default settings
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.