Sudden Power off for no reason

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have recently upgraded my motherboard, fan and processor as my last one broke, some how all the pins were bust. My new spec is shown in the picture on the right:
2m2969z.jpg

Only trouble is when i was running my HP printer install it seemed to be installing and then when i came back to my pc it had gone off completely. I thought maybe it had shut down and not restarted after the install until its been doing it a few times not only when im installign things but just randomly, it doesnt run a shutdown it just goes off like ive pulled the plug, ive tried different sockets etc, and i am just not sure if it is liek i have read on other forums do i need to replace my power supply, i am not experienced with any of this, please help.

Max

I think it is the power supply. If you used the one that came with your case than that is probably the issue.

Try to replace it.

What about the RAM??

Hey there,

You said you upgraded the mobo, fan and CPU, but what about the RAM?? If you are still using the original RAM, do you know that it is 100% compatible with your new mobo???

Installing software uses quite a bit of RAM and if its used itensively with a mobo that isn't 100% compatible then it could cause it to fail and shutdown instantly.

Although I would say that there is a 95% chance of it being your PSU, you should really make sure the RAM is compatible with the mobo first.

I would recommend a 600W Zalman.

1. first off, CPU pins don't just randomly bend on their own. it is always the result of human error. why did you replace your motherboard and fan because of "busted" CPU pins?

2. RAM errors will usually crash the computer, resulting in a BSOD/reboot, not a random shutdown.

3. there are a few reasons why your system may shut off without warning.

• overheating

• motherboard short circuiting (being grounded where it shouldn't)

• cheap, underpowered power supply