System failure

Status
Not open for further replies.
Noob here. Looks like a pretty useful site...

Anyway I have a problem with my computer. I turned it on the other morning checked some stuff and came back after lunch to see the system "shut down." Meaning I left it on and it was off. I don't have any power-save stuff enabled. I tried bring it back up but got nothing except a slight movement of the cooling fans and very faint very high pitched noise. So I assumed the PS was bad and replaced it. Now the system will come on initailly with out video. The second try will show the boot screen just after the memory test. There is a message that says "Check System Health". Then it just sits there. I can't even get into the bios to look at stuff. So, what happened?

Gigabyte K7 Triton series w/AMD Athlon 2700+ XP.

newman said:
Noob here. Looks like a pretty useful site...

Anyway I have a problem with my computer. I turned it on the other morning checked some stuff and came back after lunch to see the system "shut down." Meaning I left it on and it was off. I don't have any power-save stuff enabled. I tried bring it back up but got nothing except a slight movement of the cooling fans and very faint very high pitched noise. So I assumed the PS was bad and replaced it. Now the system will come on initailly with out video. The second try will show the boot screen just after the memory test. There is a message that says "Check System Health". Then it just sits there. I can't even get into the bios to look at stuff. So, what happened?

Gigabyte K7 Triton series w/AMD Athlon 2700+ XP.

Your system may have been FRIED. Was there a storm or lightning during your absent?? Could have been the cause. Take the thing to a repair shop. Good luck :confused: