System will no longer turn on after unusual power-down

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been building systems for over 10 years and this problem has me totally perplexed. Any help from you
hardware gurus's out there would be greatly appreaciated. Here's a list of the hardware and a history of what
happened to the system I am trying fix. Original Hardware: Asus A7n8x Mobo, Athlon 2500+ CPU, 250MB
PC2100 RAM, GEForce MX 4000 video w/128MB, 80 GB W. Digital HDD, NEC DVD Writer and 54x CDROM. Last
week I added 1GB of PC2700 RAM, and a 200GB Maxtor HDD. I also replaced the CD ROM drive with DVD ROM
drive. I added components 1 at a time so it would be easier to identify any problems. Anyway I successfully
installed all HW and everything was rocognized and working fine. I partitioned the new HDD and did a quick
format on it, browsed the web a bit and checked to see if the DVD ROM drive could read a disk(it could).
At this point the system was working as it should. I then proceeded to copy my FTP site to the new
HDD(about 35GB). It copied for about 4 or 5 minutes and the system shut off. Attempts to power it back up
failed. I have another ATX case so I took the Power supply out of it and put it in the system in question. With
this P/S the HDD's would spin up for a few seconds and then quit. Obviously the 1st P/S was dead. Since I
was planning to build another system anyway I went ahead an ordered a New MoBo,CPU,256MB PC2700 RAM
and P/S. I thought that the Board or CPU or possibly the RAM could be fried. Today I got the new MoBo, P/S,
RAM and Athlon XP 2600+ CPU and replaced the old board, CPU and P/S.

I am still getting the same thing- HDD's spin up for a few secs and then nothing. Here's where I am now. New
CPU, MB, P/S & RAM. I am still using the same HDD's and Video. However I have even tried to boot this system
with an old old PCI video card and just a floppy and still nothing. I don't think the drives are bad because I put