task manager closes

Status
Not open for further replies.

sidestitch

Okay, first let me say I'm a real novice, so please be patient. When I ctrl-alt-del, the task manager window opens, but when I hit the "tasklist" button, it closes immediately. I have run Spybot, Adaware, and Webroot Spysweeper, as well as Symantec antivirus. Any advice on what I can try? Oh - I'm on a networked PC at my office.

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Let`s do a quick check for malware.

Go and read this thread HERE and post a HJT log as an attachment into this thread.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

Your HJT log is clean. However, something`s obviously not right.

Please go HERE and follow the instructions for AVG Antispyware and Combofix.

Post an AVG Antispyware and a Combofix log.

Regards Howard :)

I just wanted you to follow the instructions for the AVG Antispyware and Combofix. There`s no need to go through the whole instructions, unless you want to, in which case, please feel free.

here is the combofix log

I am currently running th AVG scan and it is finding some threats. should I go ahead and have it fix them? or wait until you can see the logfile?

Follow the instructions for running AVG Antispyware and make sure you set the programme to quarantine what it finds. Don`t worry if it deletes a load of tracking cookies, that`s quite normal.

Combofix has found a few nasties, so please do the following.

1. Please download The Avenger by Swandog46 from HERE. Save it to your Desktop and extract it.

2. Download the attached avengerscript.txt and save it to your desktop

Note: the above code was created specifically for this user. If you are not this user, do NOT follow these directions as they could damage the workings of your system.

3. Now, start The Avenger program by double clicking on its icon on your desktop.

Under "Script file to execute" choose "Load script from file".
Now click on the folder icon which will open a new window titled "open Script File"