TechSpot

Taskbar freeze ups! PLEASE help!!

By Husker Du
Apr 17, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hey guys

    I have been having problems with random computer freeze ups. When I leave my comp on overnight I ALWAYS find that its frozen in the morning. And when my comp is frozen, people who leaves me messages on AIM, i never recieve due to the freeze up, so its quite frustrating. I re installed windows XP and cleaned out my ENTIRE drive prior to that to start this comp from scratch and I still get the random freeze ups. I did virus checks and nothing came up. Here are my specs...

    OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Version 5.1.2600 Build 2600
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name RAZA
    System Manufacturer IBM
    System Model 6792NBU
    System Type X86-based PC
    Processor x86 Family 15 Model 1 Stepping 2 GenuineIntel ~1794 Mhz
    BIOS Version/Date IBM 20KT34AUS, 4/24/2002
    SMBIOS Version 2.31
    Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
    System Directory C:\WINDOWS\System32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale United States
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.0 (xpclient.010817-1148)"
    Time Zone Pacific Daylight Time
    Total Physical Memory 512.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 294.02 MB
    Total Virtual Memory 1.72 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.35 GB
    Page File Space 1.22 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys

    and what i usually have running is....

    aim.exe
    alg.exe
    crss.exe
    explorer.exe
    lsass.exe
    services.exe
    smss.exe
    spoolsv.exe
    svchost.exe (right now I have 4 svchost.exe's running at once for some reason)
    System
    taskmgr.exe
    winlogon.exe

    ...sometimes i'll just be browsing the web, or just playing solitaire and it'll randomly lock me out an di have to ctrl+alt+del to get back in. its very frustratign and i cant figure out whats wrong! on my system events the errors I have are...
    NetBT (Initialization failed because the driver device could not be created.
    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.)

    W32Time (twice) (Time Provider NtpClient: An error occurred during DNS lookup of the manually configured peer 'time.windows.com,0x1'. NtpClient will try the DNS lookup again in 15 minutes. The error was: A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable host. (0x80072751)

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.)

    DCOM (twice) (The server {520CCA63-51A5-11D3-9144-00104BA11C5E} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.)

    Service Control Manager (The Application Layer Gateway Service service terminated unexpectedly. It has done this 1 time(s).

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.)


    The problem happend with my old machine as well, been happening for a month now and just reinstalled windows xp, with a new HD from scratch 2 days ago and still get the freeze ups. if anyone could help i'd greatly appreciate it! could it be a wireless network thing? i use a linksys wireless to connect to the internet.
    any help would be appreciated! thanks guys!
  2. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    try updating ALL of your device drivers because such freezes are a telltale sign of harware related issues.
  3. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 8,165

    Can you tell us the specs of your network settings?
    Which router/modem/network interface card, USB or ethernet, do you connect via dialup or cable etc.
    Is TCP/IP properly installed and set up?
    Go into a command session (Start/Run and type CMD and click OK) and type in ipconfig /all and press enter. This will tell you your settings.

    Go here to get Winsockfix and run that, just in case
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4372.html

    Go to Start/Settings/Control Panel/Administrative tasks/Event Viewer and see if you have yellow or red signs in Application and/or System log. These will tell you broadly in which direction you must go to solve any problems.
  4. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    i tried doing the ipconfig thing but it tells me "an internal error has occured: incorrect function"
  5. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    i installed service pack 2 just now and redid the "ipconfig" thing you asked me to and here's what I got....

    Primary DNS Suffix: (blank)
    Node Type: Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled: No
    DNS Suffix Search list: mtwd.phub.net.cable.rogers.com

    Ethernet Adapter and Wireless Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix: mtwd.phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description: Instant Wireless PCI Card v2.7
    Psyical Address: 00-06-25-1B-AD-71
    DHCP Enabled: Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
    IP Address: 192.168.1.104
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Servers: 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers: 24.153.23.66
    24.153.22.67

    Lease Obtained: April 17, 2005 3:21 AM
    Lease Expires: April 18, 2005 3:21 AM

    ...as for the system error stuff, they were posted in my orignal post for the direction I need to go in like you said, but I'm still confused as to wether i need uninstall those error related programs or what. I hope the info I got from iconfig can help you with my problem! thanks a lot!
  6. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 8,165

    You may have solved your problem by installing SP2. That includes a slew of adjustments, which probably include the fix your PC needed.
    Its problem is network related anyway.
    If you have a home network, you might consider setting fixed IPs.
    Have a look at my attachment here:
    Basics-networking

    See how it goes for a day or so. Report back if the problems persist.
  7. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    thanks for the basic network file realblack! but im confused as to how to actually change my settings to make it like what you have in the attachment. I get my internet feed wirelessly through the other comp which is wired in the basement. How can i set a fixed IP? thanks again for your help!
  8. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    also should SP2 be enough? if I dont setup fixed IP's and since you say my comp problem is network related, should I wait a day or two to find out if everything is fine after i set up fixed IP's or just leave the IP's alone and just give it a day or two since I just installed sp2?
  9. IronDuke

    IronDuke TS Rookie Posts: 1,267

    It wouldn't do any harm to go to the IBM site a try for updates.

    Boots
  10. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Ok i figured out how to do fixed IP"s but every IP i try fixing it to never worked :( the only time i could get my internet to work was if i did automatic IP. and i probably will need to set it to fixed IP because I still get the taskbar freeze ups...any suggestions?
  11. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 8,165

    Go to the router, or the PC (in the basement) that is used as server in your network.
    Change the router/server settings.
    If you don't have a router, get one first.
    You change PC settings by e.g. right-clicking the network icon in systray, select Status, select Properties, highlight TCP/IP and select Properties again.
     
  12. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    am about to go do that soon! thanks again realblack!
  13. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    OK i've setup all my comps with static IP's. im gonna keep my fingers crossed! I hope this works!
  14. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    yeah no luck! damn! any suggestions anyone? could dust be a possibility of my taskbar freeze ups?
  15. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 8,165

    Fill in your PC specs under 'User Profile', top left on this page.
    Do you have a USB keyboard and/or mouse? Do you use the latest USB and other system drivers?
    Could your Power Management settings cause this freeze?
  16. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I filled out my specs as much as I could. Good point on USB realblack b/c looking under device manager i see that my USB 2.0 is not installed properly! I dont have the install disk unfortunately! I can't figure out what brand of USB 2.0 this is, as i got this machine very recently. Should I contact my comp. vendor, or is it best if I open up my machine and pull out the USB card and put it back in again so maybe it can try to re install it as I tried doing "search for software automatically" but it can't find the proper usb drivers. This usb 2.0 is the only thing under my device manager that shows any kind of error.....hmmmm
  17. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 8,165

    go to www.lavalys.com and get the free Everest Home Edition. We need to know more about your PC, and that program will tell you.
  18. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    i am downloading it right now and will post what it says, thanks!
  19. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I downloaded it so now do you want me to post whatever it says under "computer summary"?
  20. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 8,165

    Any available drivers etc. from IBM are available here. Bookmark this for future reference:
    http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/quickPath.do?quickPathEntry=6792nbu

    Check the BIOS updates there, to see if your problem is described.
    Download the PC Doctor and run that to see if it comes up with anything better.

    Alternatively, consider a Cat5 network cable from basement to your PC and bypass the wireless network. The Everest program should tell you if you have an Intel or Via or nVidia or SIS chipset. Get the USB driver from the corresponding website.

    You still have not told us what USB devices you have on that PC.
  21. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    i tried downloading pc doctor but it says it doesnt work on windows XP. i figured out my usb problem as i simply just needed to pull out my usb 2.0 card and put it right back in and now it works fine. here is a problem that has shown up often under my events viewer...

    Details
    Product: Windows Operating System
    ID: 7022
    Source: Service Control Manager
    Version: 5.2
    Symbolic Name: EVENT_SERVICE_START_HUNG
    Message: The %1 service hung on starting.

    Explanation
    The specified service is stuck in the start pending state. The service failed to indicate that it is making progress within the time period indicated in its last status message.


    User Action
    If the service does not restart, click Start, click Control Panel, click Administrative Tools, and then start the service manually. If the problem persists, contact the service vendor.



    Version: 5.0
    Component: System Event Log
    Symbolic Name: EVENT_SERVICE_START_HUNG
    Message: The %1 service hung on starting.

    Explanation
    The specified service is stuck in the start pending state. The service failed to indicate that it is making progress within the time period indicated in its last status message.


    User Action
    If the service does not restart, use Services in Control Panel\Administrative Tools to start the service manually. If the problem persists, contact the service vendor.
  22. Husker Du

    Husker Du TS Rookie Topic Starter

    and one more thing, since i couldnt get PC doctor to work, i tried finding other pc diagnostic programs but every single one of them isnt free, they tell you its free but after it says it finds errors on your comp, you have to get buy an unlock key off of them. does anyone know of any free, solid pc diagnostic programs?
  23. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 8,165

Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.