$&#&@! Tcpipmon.exe

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Fork

Ya know, I should know better. I'm a Service Desk manager, an IT Security advisor, and a computer guru. But sometimes I hit the stupid branch down the stupid tree when I get up in the morning.

Being tired is never a good idea to look at stuff your friends send you. But somehow, I managed to let TCPIPMON.EXE sneak in. I've been trying for around 6 hours to kill it - but I suspect this new variant has more than the rpcc.dll and tcpipmon.exe.

Ya know, after running HJT, I see a lot of stuff I can unload on my machine that I know it doesn't need. The two SVCHOST.EXE do concern me but I know that Creative is notorious for using a least one (I have a Audigy2ZS).

The RUNDLL32.EXE makes me suspicious but I think it may be related to my nVidia drivers.

You`re running HJT from the wrong location.

Download HijackThis from HERE. Unzip it and place it in this directory C:\program files\hijackThis\HijackThis.exe.

[CENTER] DO NOT PUT HJT ON THE DESKTOP OR IN A TEMP FOLDER

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT.
[/CENTER]
Rename the Hijackthis.exe file to Analyze.exe. This is because some malware can hide from HijackThis.exe. Right click the HijackThis.exe file and choose rename. Click in the title box and press the delete key to clear what`s there, type Analyze.exe and press the enter key. Right click the Analyze.exe file and send to desktop(create shortcut).

[CENTER]Under no circumstances should you add any items to the HJT ignore list.[/CENTER]

You might want to copy and paste these instructions into a notepad file. Then you can have the file open in safe mode, so you can follow the instructions easier.

Boot into safe mode, under your normal user name(NOT THE ADMINISTRATOR ACCOUNT). See how HERE.