TechSpot

The "should not see me" task...

By lokem
Mar 21, 2002
  1. Hi all,

    I just encountered something odd. Right after installing the VIA 4-in-1 4.38 drivers, I instructed the setup proggie to shut down. While doing that, it kinda hung, so I waited a while. To my surprise, Task Manager came up trying to end this task called "should not see me". It somehow managed to end the process but my comp didn't reboot properly. Had to press the Reset button. Thankfully everything's fine.

    Has anyone encountered this situation b4?

    TIA.
     
  2. Mictlantecuhtli

    Mictlantecuhtli TS Evangelist Posts: 4,916   +9

    Yes, it appears when the operating system is shutting down and it's closing programs. You just shouldn't see it every time or there's something wrong with it. There's the first time for everything ;)
     
  3. SuperCheetah

    SuperCheetah TS Rookie Posts: 868

    WOW, what a message for someone to see after installing new software. I know it would freak me out as well.

    Looks like everything is ok so that is very good!!! :)
     
  4. lokem

    lokem TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 773

    Phew... This is interesting. Thank goodness nothing's wrong :D Really hate to reinstall WinXP as it takes quite some time...
     
  5. poertner_1274

    poertner_1274 secroF laicepS topShceT Posts: 4,745

    Yes it does, but sometimes it is a good thing to do though. Just to clean out all the crap on your drive that you don't really need. :)
     
  6. lokem

    lokem TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 773

    I suppose so. Sometimes I just wish Windows will not slow down to a hog after using and installing/uninstalling software from it. It gets really irritating especially if you're in the office and you don't have time to even reinstall.
     
  7. moggy40

    moggy40 TS Rookie

    I just received the same message, after having installed an EPSON printer status monitor. Had you installed the same, by chance? Now I am gonna run spybot to see whats going on.
     
  8. Nodsu

    Nodsu TS Rookie Posts: 9,431

    This task is normal. It is a part of the installer program. It's supposed to do its magic almot instantly and you shouldn't see the window this is why the witty programmer named it so. If the window was named "Installer cleanup process" then you wouldn't be scared at all although if I was an evil hacker then that would be exactly what I would name my trojan.
     
  9. mz_squawk_alot

    mz_squawk_alot TS Rookie

    phew i had the same mess last night when shutting down really thought it was a virus or something.....i had just installed eye candy very weird but am glad its ok only just reformatted lol
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.