To partition or not to partition

By Geo_at_44
Jan 21, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello,
    I need to re-partition my hard drive but I am afraid to do so. I have 2 physical drives in my computer. My C: is the only one partitionned into 5 partitions. My D:is a whole drive not partitionned and I dont want to touch it. But I would like to increase the space on C: by combining it with partion E: If i do so, would I need to re-installed the OS?
    I am using Partition Magic 4 from Power Quest, but they dont any information who to increase the space of a partition without losing or re-installing it. Can anyone advise on this ...what is i should do?
  2. SNGX1275

SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,411   +281

What OS are you using? Partition Magic 4 is pretty old, they are up to 8 now. The reason I ask is that if you have XP I don't think you can use anything before PM7 if you use NTFS (I think).

I have never used PM before version 6, but on 6 and up I know for sure there is a merge function where you can merge 2 partitions together. If 4 doesn't have merge does it have Resize? You may have to shrink down one of your partitions first, then resize C. But that wouldn't make E and C the same, if that was one of your goals.
  3. RealBlackStuff

RealBlackStuff Newcomer, in training Posts: 8,165

You can only merge ADJACENT partitions, i.e. if you have C-D-E-F on one harddisk, you can merge C-D, D-E or E-F, but not C-E or C-F.
    You will run into problems though because of the drive-letters changeing (unless you run XP and can reassign the drive-letters.
  4. SNGX1275

SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,411   +281

His partitions are likely adjacent, because his D is a seperate drive. So it should go C-E-F-G-H if he has 5 partitions on that drive. Provided he hasn't switched the lettering in XP.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...