toolbar888, install.exe ayb.dns-look-up

Status
Not open for further replies.

canquest

Hi. I am a newbie. (Please be gentle). My account (and my son's account) seems to be infected with "bad" stuff. Regardless of the virus scan's that i have done (trend micro - up-to-date), adware elimination programs (ad-aware se), microsoft defender, spyhunter (registered owner), every time i log on, I get messages saying that a dangerous site (ayb.dns-look-up) is being accessed, a toolbar888 message appears (in defender) and an install.exe program magically reappears on my desktop. Also, on my son's account, he can't even run hijack this - the dialog box appears briefly and then disappears. (On my account, I can run hijackthis seemingly without problems).

Any help that you can provide is greatly appreciated. Please forgive me if i have posted this to the wrong forum.
thanks
canquest

What gives you the belief that you have "bad stuff"? Have you looked at the standard messages here on infestations. They are very helpful. Then get back to us.

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

You`ve definitely posted in right spot.

Very Important: Before deciding whether you should clean or reformat your system, go and read this thread HERE and decide what it is you want to do.

If after reading the above, you wish to clean your system, do the following.

Go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT and AVG Antispyware logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

This thread is for the use of canquest only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

raybay said:
What gives you the belief that you have "bad stuff"?

Process File: install.exe or install
Process Name: Adware.W32.EasySearch

ToolBar888.dll - Dangerous

ToolBar888.dll is Spyware/Adware Toolbar888.