Total confusion involving Bios and File Access, help please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alright so here is my situation...

I am a film maker and beginner in computer world. I was just using our old compaq presario for editing and general use and it was beginning to get way too slow for me to work on. So i decided to build myself a new computer.

After installing all the components I tried booting it up and it did not do anything, the motherboard would turn on and the fans would work but the dvd rw and cdrom drives did not work neither BIOS or Windows XP would start. The light on the keyboard and mouse were also not lighting up.
My friend said that it was probably a problem with the motherboard so i sent it back to the company and they are currently shipping me a new one.

Now the strange thing is, when i put my hard drive (the only peice of the compaq that i did not replace) back into my old PC and tried booting it up, it did basically the same thing, no bios or windows but this time the drives worked.

If anyone knows what may be my problem please do your best to help me out, i have so many projects dependent on this computer.

Secondly, like i said, because i use this computer for editing, I have all of my AVI files and what not on the hard drive, I backed up most of the files but there are still many that I really need, I was not expecting anything of this nature to occur. I tired using the hard drive as a master drive in my parents pc but it did not boot up, and when i use it as a slave, it says that access is denied to my documents. I know that there are many similar cases on the site to this, but none of the advice has worked for me.
I have windows xp home editition and when i right click on the drive and go to properties, there is no security tab, only General Tools Hardware Sharing & Quota.

All of my "computer savvy" friend's advice has worked for this situation, i hope that somebody out there has the answer, i feel so clueless.

thank you,
-jack