Transfer of Computer Hard Drive to another computer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Since I am new to doing things like this I am asking for help prior to turning the computer on. I had an old hard drive that i removed from a computer. My daughter has a computer and would like more space to be able to play games (like SIMS) on. She is not connected to the internet, and the old computer was connnected. My problem is this, I need instructions to help me when we turn the computer on to recongnize the "new" hard drive from the old computer. Does it need to be set up as a slave/master and if so how do I do this. If not when we turn the computer on should it automatically reconize the "new" hardware and install it? She is operating under Windows 98. Will she have to change drives to play games, and how will she do this.

As you can see, we are new to this area and dont want to mess up what she does have, but would like to increase her storage capabilites so she can install games without using all her space.

Thanks for any help

Thanks for the help, after the drive was installed, we turned it on and did not have to do really anything. She now has 2 drives on her computer. We make the "new" drive the slave, but when the computer boots up, we can see where the new drive is. I was wondering if we should format both the drives, then reinstall the windows 98 to clear up the mess that is on them? Will this help, and if so, will I have to have the discs to reinstall them, or by formating them will I just clean them out and have to reinstall the programs for the printer, and other stuff she want on them.

Also, since we have one button as the slave, does she have to switch drives when she does the installation of program, or is there a way to have it automatically fill up one drive (4GB) before going to the (12GB)?

Again, thanks for the help.

When you open Windows Explorer. you can see what drives you have.
A: for a floppy drive
C: for the first harddrive with W98 on