Trojan DNS Changer - 85.255.113.90

Status
Not open for further replies.

vinny

Dear Sirs,

I was wondering if someone could please help me with a persistent Trojan infection. I use Spyware Doctor and everytime I do a scan it detects and "cleans" 2 Trojan DNS Changer viruses -one that points to 85.255.113.90 and another that points to 85.255.112.5. However after rebooting the viruses are still there and any mails that I send via Outlook are infected.

Tech Support at Spyware Doctor are unable to help, which is why I have turned here in desperation. I am not good with computers and this is the first time I have posted to any kind of forum, so please forgive me if I've not acted according to protocol.

From what I can tell, the normal practise is to send a HJT log file, so here goes:

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Very Important: Before deciding whether you should clean or reformat your system, go and read this thread HERE and decide what it is you want to do.

If after reading the above, you wish to clean your system, do the following.

Go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT, AVG Antispyware and Combofix logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Also, let me know the results of the AVG Antirootkit scan.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

This thread is for the use of vinny only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

Dear Howard,

First of all, thank you for helping me. I decided to clean rather than reinstall and followed all 15 steps - took me the better part of a day and a humbling experience. I think I'm still infected as my latest AVG scan picked out the a couple of viruses that it said are now healed but perhaps you could confirm.

The viruses were aaw2007.exe and a restore file called A0084198.exe