Troubles with Running/Removing Ubuntu

LoneSword

I just recently installed the latest version of Ubuntu on my computer. And it seems that there is absolutely no way for me to access it.

It's a frustrating matter, really. But there are a few red flags in this situation. First of all, when installing Ubuntu in the first place, it offered me no selection to choose which drive to install it on, going straight for my SSD that I wanted to leave reserved for Windows. But whatever, right? I just needed it so that I could play around with an old hard drive that I needed to do some work on. But then, after asking what language I wanted to install in, it went straight to the desktop, and the cursor went to the "waiting..." animation and stayed that way. After waiting for over fifteen minutes for anything to happen, or to be given any possible means of interfacing with the system (other than the three icons at the top - I'm new to Linux, but I feel like I should be given at least a little more control, or at least some direction), I got fed up and tried restarting. No use. Then 'Shut Down.' Nothing. Finally, reluctantly, I forced a hard reboot.

Now whenever I restart my system, GRUB does not appear with any boot options; instead, it just goes straight for Windows 8.1. I've tried using the Ubuntu installation disc I created to try and re-access the OS, but it does not offer any options beside installation. So now I have an inaccessible copy of Ubuntu floating on my SSD.

So I went ahead to try and uninstall. I've followed several guides, and all of them give the same instructions: 1) use the Command Prompt to repair MBD and drop GRUB (which appears to have worked) and 2) go through Computer Management and manually delete the partitions.