TV-out cards and their effectiveness???

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuperCheetah

I have a Gainward GeForce 2 Pro card and it came with a TV-out port in it and a small connector cable. First of all, what other cables do I need to buy to connect to my TV???

Second, will it really be worth it if I do use the TV-out option to watch ripped DVD's or TV episodes I've downloaded? By this I mean is the resolution ok, because I've heard stories of it being really poor and unreadable. The videos I have now are of very good quality, by the way.

Third, could I do any gaming on a TV screen??? And also would the desktop look good when using it instead of a regular computer monitor?

Sorry about all the questions, but I'm new with the TV-out concept and I haven't heard it's pros and cons.

The TV has a 25 inch screen and my monitor has a 19 inch screen so it's not that much of a difference, but I was just wondering. Thanks for any advice.

I answered a post about this a bit earlier (in the Audio Video forum) which you can find here...

In short:
If you are ok with watching with 640*480, then you should use it.. If not... It depends on your card, but don't expect too much...!

As for the other Q's....
What kind of a cable is it? composite, S-VHS? If it's the former, you should be able to plug it in without further hassle...

If it's the latter, you'll either need a TV/video with an S-VHS in, or a converter...

Hope this helps :)

I have video out on my card, and personally I think it looks really well. I have watched many things from my computer on my TV. Of course I have the option for composite and SVideo. You probably only have the option for SVideo. In this case like MrGaribaldi said you would have to find either a converter to get it into composite, or use a TV that has SVideo on it.