Two Modems with Comcast

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm relatively new to networking in general. I browsed the forum and the internet in general for an answer to this question to no avail. Here we go...

I would like to put another cable modem in my house. I currently pay for comcast high-speed and one of their modems. I just received another modem for free from my dad who works for Scientific Atlanta. I already have a wireless router attached to the first modem. One of my computers is really far away, and I don't really want to buy an access point or run cat5 if I don't have to. A comcast tech that came to my house said that all I had to do was get another IP address for this second modem for an additional $5/month on top of my cable bill.

Is this true? I've heard different things. If it's not true, what the heck would you do with another IP address *OTHER* than hook it up to another modem.

Excuse my newness and perhaps my lack of knowledge.

Thanks,
B

Hi Beamer,

It seems to me the Comcast guy didn't really understand your problem. Also he is bound to rules, here in Holland when you contract an ISP and have your modem/router installed, your officially not allowed to connect more than one computer to the internet connection. But offcourse, everyone does it though... He thinks you want to have BOTH computers directly accesible through the internet. But im guessing you just want a home network and connect to the internet through your router.

What is the distance between the computers? If very long and if you have more than 2 computers, I would suggest you to get some access points. Hope I helped you out!

Good Luck!