TechSpot

Upgrade graphics card

By emoboy1994
Nov 13, 2008
  1. i want to upgrade(change) my graphics card from ATI Radeon 9250 agp (it's an old one) to ATI Radeon hd 3850 agp
    is the hd 3850 complicable to an agp 4x?

    motherboard: AGP 4X supports 1 GB/s data rate and runs at 266MHz.

    more info (link): eu.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Products/ProductsDetail.aspx?CategoryID=1&TypeID=1&DetailID=51&DetailName=Feature&MenuID=1&LanID=8

    is this posible to work proparle?

    *sorry for the english
     
  2. tastegw

    tastegw TS Enthusiast Posts: 188

    yep, you can run a agp 8x in a agp 4x slot as long as the card says its backwards compatible

    altho, with that huge bottleneck, i dont think its worth getting the 3850

    my last system had a agp 4x slot, couldnt tell a difference at all when i upgraded my nvidia 5200 to a much better agp card.

    save a couple of bucks and try the 3650 agp card, it also supports 4x/8x agp

    link to one is here

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161237

    2600 doesnt look too bad either, bout the same price as card above

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131136

    good luck.
     
  3. emoboy1994

    emoboy1994 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    what about the memory rate?
    does it maters the supported memory rate of the motherboard or is saperate?

    i'm bettwin ati radeon 3650 or 3850 (sapphire)

    *note: in Greece the don't sell any his graphics card...the sell sapphire, assus, nvidia etc
     
  4. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    The 3850 will not be bottlenecked by a 4x slot. Get it, but make sure your PSU is beefy enough first. If it isn't, the 3650 is your next-best option.
     
  5. emoboy1994

    emoboy1994 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    what do you mean not be bottlenecked by a 4x slot??
    my psu 420 W
     
  6. emoboy1994

    emoboy1994 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    does it matter?
    i have got a 420W and the graphics card require 550W

    can i use my psu or not??

    something alse:which is better(performance) the HD3650 Sapphire one or the Asus one?
     
  7. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    It depends on what PSU you have. A generic one will most likely have very low power output on the +12V rail(s) and so you won't be able to use the HD 3850. The HD 3650 is your best bet overall, since it's a fairly low-power card with decent performance to boot. And Sapphire is among the best when it comes to ATI cards.
     
  8. tastegw

    tastegw TS Enthusiast Posts: 188


    i didnt mean by the 4x slot.

    what i meant was, would his pc with those specs run the 3850 to its full potential.
     
  9. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    Yes, it will without any problems.
     
  10. emoboy1994

    emoboy1994 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    which is better 3650 Sapphire or 3650 Asus??
     
  11. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    As I said, Sapphire is the better choice.
     
  12. emoboy1994

    emoboy1994 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    thx all of you
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...