Upgrade Time! Need some help from the pro's! :D

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone, sorry for intruding here...just browsing google and thought this might be the best place (Tried another forum too, so I can get a good diverse opinion).

I decided I wanted to renovate an old computer for use in my room, since im still a student ive not got the biggest budget...but a birthday coming up should do nicely

My Current System Stats:

Processor: AMD Athlon
CPU clock: 999.2mhz
Level1 Cache: 64+64kb (data+instr)
Level 2 Cache: 256kb

Motherboard :

Asrock k7Upgrade-600

Memory:

2*256mb (PCI2100 + PCI2700)

Storage:

1*Floppy (1.44mb)
1*HDD (Maxtor- 160gb)

DVD drive *2

The all important graphics card!

Geeforce FX 5200 with 128mb

Operating System is Win XP Home SP2 (Will get Vista after this upgrade )

Heh, now that thats over with, I'll tell you some things that might help make things clearer:

Im looking for a fast processor, definetely an Athlon and probably an Athlon 64 of some kind, as things are my Motherboard wont support Athlon 64's so im probably looking for a motherboard change too.

So what im really looking for is a new Motherboard, a new Fast Processor, and some 512mb RAM.

Thats initially, as i save up some more money I will gradually add a much better graphics card for my gaming (I love gaming) and another HDD.

I can probably fit it myslef with help from some online tutorials (or..if ive not annoyed you guys too much...this forum ) so its really the correct components.

Thanks in advance :)

It is strictly a matter of money. How much is in your budget, and where you are willing to make compromises. Ten of the 86 motherboard manufacturers make excellent stuff.
Read the reviews, particularly those at www.tomshardware.com and www.anandtech.com.