Upgrading Video Card on Dell 4600

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello to everyone reading. I am new to the particular forum and was hoping to for some input about my upgrade. The more I read on forums of this nature and websites has me more and more worried about upgrading my video card. Currently I only have factory integrated video. This is the video card I am hoping can be installed: XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 AGP 8X VGA DVI TV Out. My current specs are as follows:

Dell Dimension 4600i
BIOS - A12, date 8/26/04
Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 2
Pentium 4HT 2.8 Ghz, 400MHz FSB, 512K L2
512MB DDR SDRAM PC3200
120GB Hard Drive
250W PSU

I would hate to spend $400 on this video card only to find out the when I recieve it that it won't be compatible in some way with my system. I have been reading that this card takes up alot of room. I have 3 PCI slots and an AGP8x slot but since I keep reading about the room it takes up it is a concern for me. Also is my power supply. I read that this card requires a connection to your PC's internal power supply in order to operate. I went to my local computer store and the guy said that 250 watts would be fine, also that the card should work fine. The posts in all the forums I have read seem to be back and forth on this issue. Any help anyone can provide me is very, very much appreciated. If for some reason someone thinks this card might not be right for me please tell one that would be, the best I can possibly get for my system. Thanks so much in advance.

Nick

I upgaded a dell 8200 video card and it worked fine I don't see why you should have any problem. But 250w sounds alittle on the down side. :bounce:

on second thought some agp slots can only handle so much voltage like my asrock p4s61 m/b can only handle 3.3v, but if I were you I would check your m/b. :hotbounce