URGENT - Need help with graphics card

Status
Not open for further replies.

KaliNtheReD

Need help with graphics card

Alright, right now, I have a craptacular GeForce FX5200 in my system. I'm looking for a new card that's preferable no higher than $175 USD and AGP.

I was looking at some bargain 9800 Pro's. Would that offer a major performance increase, or should I look at other cards?

IMO, nVidia makes some damn sweet graphics cards but I'm in dire need of higher framerates, so I don't care what company makes it as long as it works. :dead:

Any help greatly appreciated. :)

newegg.com

I'm not a hardware expert, but I learned a little bit of what to look for when I built my own system recently. The major thing I learned about graphics cards is that the onboard memory isn't necessarily that important (I got the FX5200 too, because it had 256mb, wasn't THAT great). When shopping on newegg.com it showed specs of video cards such as core clock, memory clock, and memory RAMDAC. When I saw the difference in those it was easy to see why there were a lot of 128mb cards that were more expensive than 256mb cards. The one I would probably recommend to you would be the NVIDIA 6600GT card.

Core Clock: 500mhz
Memory Clock: 900mhz ($149) and 100mhz ($182)
RAMDAC: 400mhz

You can find the ones I'm looking through here:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...ice=&MaxPrice=&SubCategory=48&Submit=Property

Hopefully it will be a clickable link.

However I'll make one more suggestion, upgrade to a mobo with PCIE on it, from what I understand it's faster than AGP and will eventually replace it as the graphics standard.

Good luck,

-Mike

Two things:

I was looking at 6600GT's and 6800GT's and my PSU doesn't have enough power to handle them.

Secondly, I know about PCI-e and stuff, but I don't want to go through the hassle/cost of upgrading my mobo. If I ever wind up getting a mobo with PCI-e, it would be with a new computer purchase.