USB device not recognised

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,
I am a high school teacher from Australia. I teach maths and science to 11 - 16 year-olds [you know, the kids that want to learn - hahahaha].
Anyway, I recently purchased a "new" computer on Ebay:
It's a Dell Optiplex GX60.
I do a lot of airbrush artwork [yes, even though I teach maths and science] and computer manipulation using Photoshop. My previous computer simply couldn't cope so I thought I'd get a faster/"better" one.
Believe it or not, but the PSU is only 180 watts - but I have been told that Dell PSU are unique and that I can't upgrade.
I have yet to manage to get through to Dell as they only appear interested in customers who have a warranty.
My problem is this, with almost evey device a connect via USB, I get "USB device not recognised".
In other forums, I had suggested that I get a powered hub as this should solve the problem. However, my old Belkin USB 1.1 hub appears to work fine, albeit slow; I purchased a USB 2 hub and the coputer installls it and then again comes up with, "USB device not recognised" - it doesn't matter which port I use [although the 2 front ones appear to have less power than the back ones] - the 2 front ports support only card readers - no even memory sticks are recognised [except through the old USB 1.1 hub].
I have spent the better part of 2 weeks on this issue and am just about ready to chuck this computer in the corner and start hunting for another computer on Ebay [But NOT a Dell - which I was lead to believe was a good quality brand].
Dell's own forums are full of this same issue with many solution - none of which work.
So, I thought I'd try another forum.
BTW - the new USB 2 hub is not the problem as it runs fine on the old computer - with all 7 ports filled - no problem.
Any suggestions???

You must install the motherboard drivers for that PC ,,, It will then install proper USB drivers and your good to go.