Uses for second hard drive

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm new to this upgrading game and was wondering if I install a second hard drive, will I be able to use it to install programmes and games etc or is it only useful for storing files and backups. I feel that I can probably do the installation part, but I am not sure if I need to install XP on the new drive. I will have it as the slave. I am just not sure how it all works with two drives. Hope this makes sense.

OS not required

Since your objective is to simply add a drive you won’t need to install an OS onto it. You will only need to partition and format the drive.

Does your current system have more than one drive letter (i.e. C: and D: or more)? If so when add a primary partition to the new drive it will automatically become drive D and, if you already have other drive letters they will be pushed down to E, F, etc. This could cause a problem with shortcuts or other references. One way around this would be to partition the entire new drive with only one extended partition (don’t add a primary partition). You can then create as many logical drives within the extended partition as you want. This would cause all new drives in you extended partition to piggy back onto what you already have.

You can store anything you choose onto the new drive (programs, data or whatever), however, be aware that most software “wants” to drop into the C:\Program Files folder and you will have to override this. Future problems could also arise if your drive letters were to change for any number of reasons.

Partition the entire new drive

Hi, Not sure what you mean by 'partition the entire new drive with only one extended partition' are you talking about the two hard drives or just the new one and how do I go about doing this? Sorry to be so thick but its quite a steep learning curve. I don't have a problem with just formatting the new drive but after that I may get a bit stuck.

An extended partition is...