Using 2 browsers,any advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liquidlen

I have long read that many of you guy's recommending the use of alternate browsers.
I have delayed doing so simply because I just do not surf much.
However I am ready . I have done a bunch of reading and have decided on Mozilla and I see there is a new version.
I will not be deleting IE as I will use it for Windows Update.
So is there any advice/warnings you guys can offer concerning the installation/configuration of having both browsers.
Thanks

You shouldn't have any problems, I have been using 2 browsers for many years now. You will find MANY more options in Firefox than in IE, but you don't have to use them all. Just play around and use what you like the most.

I have had no problems, just go to Tools >> Internet Optoins in IE and then click on the Programs tab and select accordingly :)

When you say Mozilla are you talking about firefox? Assuming you are I think you will be more happy with your decision to use it after you have installed some extentions for it. Extentions are easy to install, I just don't recommend installing more than 1 or 2 at a time (browser close and reopen is necessary to install extentions).
You can get extentions here: https://update.mozilla.org/extensions/?application=firefox

And while you're at it, get rid of OE as well.
Install Mozilla's Thunderbird. It will import all your addresses and messages from OE.
Much faster and definitely safer.
I am still using Pegasus, but am currently evaluating T'bird, and think I'll make the switch soon.

Have been using both Thunderbird and Firefox here since early beta releases and they co-exist without any problems. After a while you'll forget all about the MS gear.

I use Firefox as my primary browser (and IE for windows update the rare page I surf that doesn't like firefox).