TechSpot

Various Firefox problems

By resu
Mar 4, 2006
  1. hi..
    Ive been using firefox for 2 years now and it has never ever let me down until today !!
    i booted my PC as normal and i opened Firefox and found that my Bookmarks had all dissappeared !!??? i dont have a clue where they have gone

secondly as i started to add my bookmarks again, if i went to a page it would be fine but then if i added it to the bookmarks folder it started to shake/wobble up and down within the firefox window (it was only shaking below the FF toolbar). now everytime i try and access that page with FF it shakes but the subpages from the bookmarked page dont shake!

I have uninstalled and re-installed firefox and it makes no difference to my porblem ... this makes me think that its a registry problem, but i dont know anything about the registry so i cant do anything to that! on another forum some people said that it was most porbably a virus, but avast didnt pick it up with my last scan. Someone else said that it was windows and the only way i could solve the problem would be to format my HDD and re-install everything again (I am understandably reluctant to do that).

If anyone has experienced these problems and/or know how to fix it, that would be great!!

thank you.

(ive been to the mozilla site and i cant find any email addresses for me to use to get their ppoint of view on my problem)

2. Tedster

Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 6,000   +15

did you back up your hard disk?

3. Peddant

Peddant TS Rookie Posts: 1,446

This link tells you how to troubleshoot and FULLY uninstall Firefox.Also where you might find bookmarks,if they still exist("C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\").
    If all else fails - http://www.opera.com/download/

4. resu

resu TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 172

firstly thx for the replies

- i havent backed up my HDD.... why is it worth a windows re-install ?