Very nasty virus! Locks system restore - need expert help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raventops

I will throughouly explain my problem and what I have done to take action againts it. It is a virus that has locked system restore, appears to be disabling programs and is a real pain with Instant Messengers. It is always trying to duplicate itself too!

Antiviruses will not pick this up (AVG free and norton wont detect it)

Hello and I'd like to thank you for reading my post. I have encountered many viruses simular to this - but not one this nasty. I am also not a newbie to computers - I do know how to do the basic security check and get rid of my viruses.

I will first start off explaining what it has done to my computer, that I have noticed.

1. A few more pop ups than usual. This looks like typical adware. but i am unable to find this adware and delete it.
2. Programs like Ares and Imesh and Doom 3 will not open! Nothing happens at all when i double click them.
3. I got the virus on August 27, at 11:05pm, and when i go to System Restore - that is the ONLY checkpoint available. What a surprise :suspiciou
4. It always tries to spread itself through instant messenger by sending automatic fake and nasty messages including a link.

Ok. Now I got the virus through a friend. I clearly was not thinking. Out of no where on MSN he says

"Hey! Check this out! http://ri.passport/myemail@hotmail.com!" <<<< not exactly that URL though.

This was obviously an automaticly generated message that my friend did not send.

As soon as I clicked on it, my browser froze up, some activity with my computer took place and explorer closed and then refreshed itself.

Immediatly following that, I began sending automatically generated messages saying the same thing - and my friends of course clicked them. After every message (seemed as if it was timed on an interval of 5 minutes) my MSN chat window would close down by iteself.