VERY strange Seagate HDD problem - cannot detect on cold boot, but detects on reboot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here's my strange problem:

I have a 120gb Seagate HDD that I use for backup storage. I have been using the drive for about 5 months now without a problem. One day I booted it up and realized that BIOS did not detect it. It is currently SECONDARY SLAVE. The strange part is, once I get into winxp, it sees the drive - albeit in PIO ONLY mode instead of DMA. Once I do a reboot (NOT A COMPLETE SHUTDOWN), BIOS sees the drive and it functions normally again - winxp sees the drive as correctly functioning and in DMA mode.

What's strange is that once I start up the computer from a cold boot, go into BIOS, and check what devices are where, BIOS does not see anything in secondary slave at first. Once, I do an "auto detect" it picks up the info on my HDD and it works fine.

I've tried flashing the BIOS and the problem persists. HOWEVER, the drive works fine as secondary MASTER. I swapped my sec. slave and master and the setup works fine. The device that I put into slave (a liteon 811s dvd writer) detects correctly and works fine in windows. I just have no idea why the seagate drive does not detect at first boot.

Here are my specs:
pentium 4 2.4
EliteGroup L4S8A2 mobo latest 1.0E BIOS
PRIMARY MASTER: maxtor 80gb
PRIMARY SLAVE: seagate 80gb
SECONDARY MASTER: liteon 811s
SECONDARY SLAVE: seagate 120gb (problem drive)

Please provide any feedback, this is driving me crazy!

A big drive like that 120G requires an 80-wire IDE flat-cable. It will run on a 40-wire cable but only at a reduced rate. Being on the same cable as a CD, reduces the HD to the DMA/PIO level of that CD.
The CD-drive only needs a 40-wire and will probably not even function with an 80-wire cable.
So unless you get another PCI-IDE controller, you will have some speed and/or compatibility problems.
Make that 120GB master and run that CD as slave, since that works (as you say).