Video Card Background

Status
Not open for further replies.

bstedne18

Hi guys,

I'm very new to the computer building/computer component field, and I have some brutal questions about video cards in general.

What type of video cards are there? I've heard PCI and AGP, and I think those are two of the types that there are.

Great. Now that I know what types of video cards there are, buying one should be a snap. Assuming I figure out one more thing....How do I know that a PC will be compatable with a certian type of video card? I know that they usually have expansion slots in the back, but what type of slots support which type of video cards?

Feel free to write a page of "boring" information, I know almost nothing, and making a purchase is difficult with no knowledge on a vital component in a good system.

Thanks so much...

and also, if someone ever responds, PCI is older than AGP, which is older than PCI-E.....am i right? and is PCI-E PCI-express? thanks guys.

and also...lol...what's the difference between PCI-E X 1 , and PCI-E X 16? lookin to make a purchase and need some answers before I choose....thanks.

bsted, i'd say that once you're more fluent in the tongues of graphics cards from reading that article, i'd say you're ready to start catching up on the times in terms of what major companies are making cards, and which ones are the most recent/ the best of the business and what they're priced like.

and for that, i'll just give you a list of them.

the two main companies that are competing right now are AMD and NVidia. you may have heard ATI lately, but ATI was bought by AMD. so for all intents and purposes, we'll call them AMD.