Video Card? problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Martinkearin

Hi all
Probably a question that puts me into the beginner bracket tho I've been using PCs for 15 years.
2 weeks ago had a system that was working well.
PIII 733MHz 191MbRAM
Was in the middle of playing thru an old game of my son's ("TA Kingdoms"). All fine.
Made a basic mistake, opened a file that seemed to come from my ISP but was bogus. Virus checker not up to date (OK, I know). So I was so badly infected decided to reformat. All went well, new setup fine till I started to replay the game I had started previously.
Instead of running well, game seized up repeatedly, going into ultra slo-mo or hanging completely. System performance showed 100% CPU usage, this thru levels I had completed with no probs previously.
Obvious culprit is video card, but that has not changed from previous setup. NB no video card available to check on - built into motherboard.
Any advice on how to proceed to solve problem welcome.
PS don't think you're being insulting if you offer an "obvious" answer - I will live with the shame!
Martin

LOL!

Probably easily fixed. It sounds to me like after you re-installed windows you didn't reinstall your drivers. Bullseye?

If this is the case, do you have any CDs that came with the computer?

What is your computer by the way? Is it a name brand like dell or something? If so, what is the model number?

If it is NOT a namebrand, we need to know the details of your hardware.

Motherboard make:
Motherboard model number:
Video card:

If your computer is not a namebrand AND you don't know the details I am asking for above, then you'll have to install some probing software. Install this to get the info I am asking for above:

https://www.techspot.com/downloads/27-cpu-z.html

Then we can point you in the right direction to find and download your drivers. Without them your system will not run well at all, as you are finding out. :grinthumb

Thanks for response
Computer is Compaq Deskpro EN