Vintage (1973) Mopar (Dodge Challenger) Starting Troubleshooting Advice requested

Good Evening: I am new to this webpage and hope that there is someone out there that can help me troubleshoot a starting problem with my 1973 Dodge Challenger. This was my first car and sat about 2 months. I charged the battery and poured a little gas in the center carburetor (it has a 340 6 pack and electronic orange box ignition) and cranked. It almost started, but kindof kicked back. When I tried again, all I got is one click. Jumping the starter relay on the firewall gave me the same results. I recharged the battery and pulled the starter out a little in case it jambed and tried again. Same thing. So I pulled the starter all the way out, put it back in and checked battery voltage - it was just a little over 12 volts. When I attached the starter cable to the battery, there was a spark and the cable warmed up so I quickly tried again. Same thing, one click. I replaced the starter with a new one and discovered I had accidentally grounded the hot lead to the starter housing when tightening it. Anyway, same thing with the new starter - one click. I thought maybe the engine siezed or hydrolocked, so I removed the spark plugs and turned the crankshaft with a socket and an extension. It turns. Started checking voltage and grounds including the ground to the neutral safety switch and continuity and everything checks out okay. But haven't checked the ignition switch. Was told it was okay because it of the solenoid "click" and that the electrical system should be okay because of the click. Just can't figure it out. Could it be the ballast resistor? Anyone who knows anything about this, I would appreciate your ideas on this. Thank you.

erm, You do realize this is a PC tech forum, not a car repair forum right? I am no car expert, but have you pulled a plug to make sure you are getting spark, and checked the timing?

I think a member here called MoPar Man could help you though! ;)