TechSpot

Vista - blue screen of death and rebooting

By michael_l
Jan 21, 2008
  1. Hi,
    ive had my computer for 6 months, and now its keeps rebooting every 1-2days. These reboots can be in the middle of using the internet, running a virus scan, or doing nothing at all.
    When the computer crashes i get the blue screen with "bad_pool_caller", but this only stays on for a second, then it proceeds to reboot. (the next time it should stay up longer, ive disabled the reboot option). After the resart vista gives me info on the crash, which i will post with the dump files.

    Memoray and chkdsk come up fine, with no errors. The computer clean and not overheating. Any help on why this keeps happening would be greatly appreciated. This has happened 3 times in the past 3 days, but i only got the crash info twice (sry), but ive got 4dmp files - no idea why but there all posted.

    I'm running vista home premium, with 2GB Ram, and duel core processor. I have nvidia gefore 7500 LE, with kaspersky internete security and a usb wireless g network adaptor for the internet. (Compaq Presario SR2125UK)


    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 2057

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 1000008e
    BCP1: C0000005
    BCP2: 820752B1
    BCP3: 8DA75AAC
    BCP4: 00000000
    OS Version: 6_0_6000
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 768_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini012108-02.dmp
    C:\Users\Michael\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-58484-0.sysdata.xml
    C:\Users\Michael\AppData\Local\Temp\WER80C3.tmp.version.txt

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 2057

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: c2
    BCP1: 0000000D
    BCP2: 85EC90E0
    BCP3: 20707249
    BCP4: 01000000
    OS Version: 6_0_6000
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 768_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini012108-03.dmp
    C:\Windows\Temp\WER-30950-0.sysdata.xml
    C:\Windows\Temp\WER5668.tmp.version.txt

    Thanks for any help, kind regards,
    -Mik.
     
  2. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    Do you have Service Pack 2 installed?
     
  3. michael_l

    michael_l TS Rookie Topic Starter

    ummm, im unsure- how would i tell?
    ps now my computer wont load :( i can switch the computer on, and it loads then a blank screen. i dont know if this is connected, but any ideas would be greatful.
    Many Thanks,
    -Mik
     
  4. michael_l

    michael_l TS Rookie Topic Starter

    hi,
    ive got another bluescreen, with the error this time.

    STOP: 0x00000024 (0x001904AB, 0X9942C8FC, 0X9942C5F8, 0X821BE00)

    i can only get the computer started in safe mode, as the error happens whenever i swith the computer on and boot as normal.
    i will try a system restore, and attach the dmp files later.

    Mik
     
  5. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    Memory Problem?
     
  6. michael_l

    michael_l TS Rookie Topic Starter

    sry, im a complete noob. would that be RAM, cus ive had some ram put in (1GB)
    though a professional recommended it and installed it, and tested it (or so he said - i dont the tech guys! )

    Shouldi take the ram/pc back, and argue the case, or wait and see if its a diffrent error?

    Many thanks,
    Mik
     
  7. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    If you can get the computer to run long enough, download the free Memtest86 and run it for four hours or seven passes. That will verify whether it is a memory problem.
    The fact that the problem does not occur in safe mode implies that it is some sort of software issue or perhaps an infestation. You might want to download the latest edition of Hi Jack This, and post the results to the experts on this forum.
    It could also be something simple, like a memory module that needs to be reseated, and other possibilities such as inadequate (or too much) thermal past between the cpu and heatsink, a defective driver, and so on. Trouble shooting sometimes takes a long time.
    Reseat all your cables and memory modules, carefully, then go to your Device Manager (Start->Control Panel->System->Hardware->Device Manager) and look for any red or yellow flags.
    You can also take a look at the event viewer (Start->Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Computer Management->Event Viewer, and look for significant red or yellow flags in those lists that are repeated at about the same time you get the errors, which are actually memory dumps.
    You may have a video graphics card driver error, so download the latest one and replace the one now installed.
    This is only a partial list.
    Good luck. Let us know what you learn.
     
  8. michael_l

    michael_l TS Rookie Topic Starter

    hi, this is just an update:
    im running memtest now, but my comp came with it s own diagnostics tool which i ran - came back:
    HDD - fine,
    RAM - fine
    Processors - fine

    No flags in device manager (though i unistalled any extra stuff - usb wireless stuff - nothing important)
    uninstalled/reinstalled graphic drivers
    Event viewer wont work (had it on once but some vista error makes it impossible)
    Chkdsk /r came back clean/no errors,
    boot fix - no errors

    im still trying, but i think it may have to go back to the people who installed the ram and get them to check it out :( oh well, at least i wont need to pay if its their fault.

    thanks for all your help so far, its greatly appreciated,
    mik

    (ps one question if the ram was in conflict, but working would the memoray test come back ok? sry if this is confusing)
     
  9. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Tutorial: How to use Memtest

    Only by using memtest can you tell that the memory is faulty

    Conflicting Ram usually means the computer would not start
     
  10. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,171   +37

    What kimsland said. I had to replace my RAM because I was experiencing what you are: Crashes before even it booted fully and then reboot.

    MemTest is a great test but it is not perfect. Let it run for a minimum of 7 to 10 passes. This takes a long time. If you get errors you have corrupted memory (RAM) and then if you have more than one stick of RAM you should run this test on each individual stick.
     
  11. michael_l

    michael_l TS Rookie Topic Starter

    thanks. i ran memtest no erros.
    Took it to the "professional" who installed the ram, but he said the ram was fine, and so was the HDD, Ram Processors etc..

    He found out that windows was "corrupt", some of the files had become unstable = no load.

    I think i know what casued this (stupid intel viiv and its software!) but i cant be sure.

    ive just reinstlled vista, and the computers fine (again, and fingers crossed it stays like this). i forgot how much i hated user account control, till it just came on! lol oh well,

    Thanks for all ya help, take care,
    mik
     
     
  12. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,171   +37

    Glad to hear it worked out for you and we really appreciate it when resolved issues are posted.
     
  13. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.