Website Hosting, who's best?

By kentown
Apr 3, 2004
Post New Reply
  1. After a 3 week nightmare with IMHOSTED.CON I could use suggestions for reliable US hosting company. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
  2. ---agissi---

    ---agissi--- TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,382   +15

  3. acidosmosis

    acidosmosis TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,574

    www.powweb.com

    1000MB space
    5GB bandwidth a DAY (around 150GB/month)
    PHP, Perl5, Sendmail, CGI-BIN, SSI, .htaccess, cronjobs, mySQL, etc
    650 POP3/IMAP email address + Webmail
    24/7 FTP (up to 10 FTP users)

    http://www.powweb.com/webhosting.htm for more information

    $7.77/month
  4. vassil3427

    vassil3427 Newcomer, in training Posts: 822

    Yeah I vote for powweb too
  5. SubKamran

    SubKamran Newcomer, in training Posts: 303

    http://www.securemate.net/

    Best tech support ever, not only that, you can't argue with 3GB space and unlimited transfer (literally) for $25/month!

    Me and my friend host about 10 domains on one account.
  6. XtR-X

    XtR-X Newcomer, in training Posts: 1,040

    I would not recommened them. My friend, who purchased hosting from this company had the worst experience ever. I had administrative access as well to this and it was horrible.

    Powweb hosting periodically turned off and on, the sql and databases went offline several of times, it was slow most of slow sometimes (and he didn't host files or anything and it's not a traffic sucking website), and the experience was horrible. Tech support claimed so many times to solve the problem but never solved it, even on threats to cancel. Well he finnaly did cancel.

    You can go ahead and get that hosting if you want-- Good luck.
  7. Rick

    Rick TechSpot Staff Posts: 6,304   +52 Staff Member

    You get what you pay for.

    I've tried numerous $5-10 hosts and all 6 or 7 of them were not perfect... Or very good for that matter.
  8. acidosmosis

    acidosmosis TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,574

    I never had any problems with them. From what Vassil told me it didn't sound like he really had any either. I think he hosts several websites there.
  9. ---agissi---

    ---agissi--- TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,382   +15

    The site I listed is $5/month [if you pay annually]. But they have a lot of other good plans. For $5 a month you get

    and they have GREAT 24/7 techsupport. Never offline. Rarly had problems, and when I have had probs, the techsupport have replyed within 1-5, 10minutes at most.
  10. XtR-X

    XtR-X Newcomer, in training Posts: 1,040

    Exactly. Being in the web developing business for several years, that's just the fact. There's no other way arround it.

    BTW, agissi, what host are you talking about? Got a link?




    If it's too good to be true, it is.
  11. acidosmosis

    acidosmosis TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,574

    Most problems occur with features such as mySQL. If you dont use those kinds of features you probably wont notice problems but on a rare blue moon. (With any webhosting)
  12. ---agissi---

    ---agissi--- TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,382   +15

  13. ptitterington

    ptitterington TechSpot Maniac Posts: 376

    Good web hosting

    I am looking for a reasonable priced site to host my company website.

    A friends son built one as a college project but says it is too complicated for me to edit and use.

    He is probably right.

    I have purchased Serif web plus 8 for £9.99 which is ok. I have constructed a site and now need to upload it somewhere.

    any suggestions.

    my other problem is that the site that was created is still there and the kid has gone travelling so what can I do to delete the original.

    The name is stouen.co.uk as my company is St Ouen Property Services Ltd.

    I have vehicles with this name on so I need it to work.

    Much of the site that the lad produced was fine for his college but is not what I need.
    any help appreciated... yet again....:D
     
  14. Akio

    Akio Newcomer, in training Posts: 262

  15. ---agissi---

    ---agissi--- TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,382   +15

    I doubt he wants sometime with Ads and very limited bandwidth Akio (this would be something free).

    The best hosting I've ever dealt with, and what I host all my sites on now, is www.byzhosting.com. Great Site, with CPanel you get all these features at your finger tips, that are just a few clicks away if you want it to install them to your site:

  16. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff Newcomer, in training Posts: 8,165

    This is apparently your own site. Contact the people below, they can tell you how to get into that website. You will need to obtain the login and password information.

    The following info is freely available on the internet, so I am not telling any secrets here:

    Domain Name:
    stouen.co.uk

    Registrant:
    St Ouen Property Services Ltd.

    Administrative Contact's Address:
    La rue du creux baillot
    St Ouen
    JERSEY
    JE3 2DR
    GB

    Registrant's Agent:
    Fibranet Services Ltd [Tag = FIBRANET]

    Relevant Dates:
    Registered on: 07-Jan-2002
    Renewal Date: 07-Jan-2006
    Last updated: 20-Feb-2004

    Registration Status:
    Registered until renewal date.

    Name servers listed in order:
    ns1.ukwebdns.net 80.94.196.54
    ns2.ukwebdns.net 80.94.197.54
    WHOIS database last updated at 08:30:01 19-Jun-2004
    (c) Nominet UK 1996 - 2004
    For further information and terms of use please see http://www.nic.uk/whois


    As to your upload-problem, an FTP-program like the free "CoffeeCup Free FTP 3.0" is available here: http://www.tucows.com/preview/195147.html

    It will let you delete/download existing stuff, and let you upload/replace new stuff.

    For FTP I normally use the built-in FTP functions from Ontrack's Powerdesk Pro V5, which is a superior form of Windows Explorer.
    It lets you copy/cut & paste files for FTP just like Exlorer.
  17. ptitterington

    ptitterington TechSpot Maniac Posts: 376

    Hey all many thanks. I am digesting it all, Yes I dont need the freestuff with popups etc.

    I also recieved this today and it may be fron the site hosting the site.


    Dear Peter,
    As you may have heard in the press and from shareholder communications, Host Europe Plc has recently been acquired by PIPEX Communications Plc. This marks an important milestone in the history of Host Europe and strengthens our standing as one of the UK's leading Internet Hosting companies.

    We feel that PIPEX and Host Europe's product ranges are highly complementary, and will enable all of our customers to take advantage of a faster enhanced network infrastructure, and additional Data Centres in Leeds, Manchester (XTML) and London (Harbour Exchange).

    In the near future you will also be able to benefit from a broader product portfolio - including hosting, connectivity, security products, voice services and managed services - letting you outsource all your Internet products from one trusted source.

    Following on from this acquisition Host Europe Plc will shortly delist from the London Stock Exchange AIM market and undergo a programme of re-branding, changing our name from Host Europe Internet Ltd to PIPEX Communications Hosting Ltd.

    Day-to-day the most obvious change will be that invoices and letters will carry the PIPEX branding. You will of course continue to receive the same high standard of service that you have come to expect from Host Europe.

    Your current account manager, contact details for sales and technical support and contracts will remain the same, and for most customers payment details will also remain unaffected. Only customers paying by cheque need amend their payment details, as specified on upcoming invoices.

    Looking to the future

    Our vision is to take the best processes, services and support and replicate these across our entire organisation, underpinning your business with access to the best people, support, services and infrastructure at all times. Our goal remains to deliver world-class hosting and telecommunications services, and we believe that these changes will ultimately benefit all of our customers.

    If you require additional information explaining more about this change and the positive impact it will have on your organisation, we have a set of FAQ's which can be accessed from your control panel or by clicking on the following link http://www.hosteurope.com/hosteuropepipexfaq.html.

    If you have any further questions or comments - regarding any aspect of our business, please do not hesitate to get in touch. You can contact us directly or email us on suggestions@pipex.net.

    Your continued support and feedback will ensure that we work in partnership with you to deliver the highest levels of service and support to your organisation today and in the future.

    Yours sincerely,

    I do have some passwords that the lad sent and can only try them , He never specified where they were for.

    Once again thanks
  18. acidosmosis

    acidosmosis TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,574

    POWWEB.COM

  19. ---agissi---

    ---agissi--- TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,382   +15

    Looks like spam? :\

    Powweb is cheap, but you get what you pay for most the time.
  20. acidosmosis

    acidosmosis TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,574

    Never had a problem with them. Fast, good support, a great support forum, lots of space, etc.
  21. ptitterington

    ptitterington TechSpot Maniac Posts: 376

    Well any advise appreciated.

    I downloaded coffee cup and accessed ftp.stouen.co.uk, I deleted all that it would allow me to. A couple of folders wont go.

    I used the Serif interface to upload new content which it did but it is not visable on the net.
    I have checked in coffee cup and it is all there as is the 2 files that it wont delete.
    Will they be stopping me making it work, is there anyway of telling who is hosting the site?

    Baffeled.
  22. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff Newcomer, in training Posts: 8,165

    Should you not access www.stouen.co uk ?

    On most servers, your data goes into a sub-directory "public_html" or "www".
    In there are several sub-directories like "cgi-bin" and your own directories as made by your web-package.

    Don't start deleteing anything in sight!
    Find the directory that (used to) contain the page "index.htm" or "index.html".
    That is your so-called home-page and that is also where you copy your (serif-) stuff to.
  23. ptitterington

    ptitterington TechSpot Maniac Posts: 376

    yep you were correct,
    I deleted wwwroot .

    Fortunately It is restored and I am now able to play with the site.

    Just a little dissappointed that the graphics are not that sharp.

    But it still beats learning to do it properly. I wanted a site that I could upload stuff to and then change easily and thats what I sort of have.

    Just really want to build houses.

    :)
    BTW Could I not just host my own site on a spare machine hooked up to the net, is it that hard to do?
  24. MrGaribaldi

    MrGaribaldi TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 2,802

    Unless you're on a highspeed dedicated line you shouldn't host anything on your own machine.

    DSL is horrible for webhosting, and cable isn't much better.

    And if you host it on your own internet connection, either you'll loose your bandwidth when someone tries to access your site, or noone will be able to access the site when you're browsing the web.

    Not to mention the chances that you're machine will be hacked and used for pr0nsharing.

    So I'd really advice against that unless you know exactly what you're doing, and you need to have the server in-house.

    But why do you need a new hotel, since you've already got one? www.stouen.co.uk is already hosted at a hotel, so there shouldn't be any need to get a new one.


    If you want to get a site to play with, I'd advice not doing this on the company website, but on a private hotel/ISP account. (Or at the very least a private portion of the company site).

    B-One is a very cheap hotel which'd allow you to play around all you want and learn, whilst keeping the company site clean.
  25. ptitterington

    ptitterington TechSpot Maniac Posts: 376

    It was just a thought.

    Anyway I have it working ok at a very early stage, I am just going to have to figure out making everything smaller as it takes too long to open and I havent even tried it yet on dial up.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.