What is CNR/IDE RAID?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eddy05

Guys if I may trouble you again... I'm reading reviews about motherboards, and I saw the words "IDE RAID." What is it and what it does?

I looked at my own motherboard [ECS P4ITA2] and saw a "CNR" slot. It wasn't used up. What is it for? How much is its bandwidth?

Sorry for asking all this kind of questions coz' I'm a newbie to hardwares.

Hey eddy05,

Great question. SVT is only part right on the RAID issue. Raid stands for Redundand Array of Inexpensive Drives. Raid allows you to take two drives (hopfully identical size and type ) and double their space and speed. It works like this. Two 40 gig drives = 80 gig. But in raid, you can set the drives to be stripped (0) or mirrored (1) or a combanation. In stripped, two drives alternate info, so if you had a single drive and wanted to write 1 2 3 4 5 6, it would write all the numbers to one drive, but stripped writes (at the same time) drive 1 1 3 5, drive 2 2 4 6, it splits the data and writes it to alternating drives, but windows only see's one big drive.

Mirrored just makes a duplicate of the first drive, so if one drive fails, you just swap the drives and reboot. For us enthusiats, we go for the RAID 0 for best performance.

Now a CNR stands for Communications Network Riser, and SVT is 100% right. I could go into an explaination but it is a waist of time and you most likely will never use it, as aftermarket CNR devices are very few and far between.

So look for a RAID board if you want. It allows you to have 8 channels for IDE instead of the standard 4. You can put all your CD-Roms CD-r's DVD and what not on one set of channels and your Hard drives on their own dedicated FASTER bus, as most of the RAID IDE channels are either ATA-100 or ATA-133. Hope this answers some of your questions. ;)

The sticky right above your post will give you lots of info. and links about raid and its advantages. I highly advise you to check it out!