TechSpot

what makes the amd64 better ?

By james_k1988
Mar 4, 2005
  1. i am hopeing that when i get some cash i'm giveing my computer a mighty upgrade. I was told that the amd64fx is one of the most powerful processors and is especially good for gameing. So i went to check prices and found alot of different versions (diff mhz) that cost a bundle. what got me thinking was i saw one, the same power as mine (i have a AMD Sempron 2600+, runs at bout 1.8 and the one i saw was the same mhz 1.8) except it had alot more fsb and higher bus speed. is it these 2 things that make it run so much faster?
     
  2. vnf4ultra

    vnf4ultra TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,195

    amd64

    Well, the athlon 64 has a built in memory controller, and a fast hypertransport bus.
     
  3. tbrunt3

    tbrunt3 TS Rookie Posts: 495

    I would get a 64bit 3500 your Sempron dont have the cahe that the 64 bit one does Amd needs to bring back the Athlon XP barton those were great chips. I really think this might hurt AMD buy pulling the socket A barton core But basically then 64bit is barton on steroids wich is a good way to look at it..Personally I would not run a Sempron not enough guts as the good old barton core had


    I hope this helped you
     
  4. fishhookz

    fishhookz TS Rookie Posts: 177

    AMD64 is mostly XP. I don't get it why Intel dumped the Northwood (cooler) and AMD dumped the XP. The two are the best of the 32-bit chips, IMO.

    Even a Sempron and AMD64 running at the same speed, the AMD64 is somewhat faster in 32-bit. In 64-bit, AMD64 kicks rear.
     
  5. luvr

    luvr TS Rookie Posts: 74

    Don't know about Intel, but I can understand that AMD doesn't want to spend too much more energy on the 32-bit line. Think about it: AMD were the x86-64 pioneers, and Intel had to follow them (seeing that the Itanium line wasn't much of a success). It's only natural for AMD to try and stay ahead of the competition, isn't it? In the 32-bit world, Intel were the pioneers, and AMD had to keep fighting the (not necessarily deserved) idea that Intel were superior, with AMD being the followers.

    It's a great marketing move for AMD to concentrate on 64-bit processing, since that's where they have an advantage. If I were in their place, I would do everything it took to keep that advantage.
     
  6. james_k1988

    james_k1988 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 290

    kl

    kool then i'll definetly go for the amd64 as i mainly use my machine for gameing. Now my motherboard, could it take a amd64, listed below is what sandra says bout it

    SiSoftware Sandra

    Mainboard
    MP Support : 1 CPU(s)
    MPS Version : 1.40
    Model : SiS-741
    System BIOS : 11/01/2004-SiS-741-6A7I8FK9C-00

    System Memory Controller
    Location : Mainboard
    Error Correction Capability : None
    Number of Memory Slots : 4
    Maximum Installable Memory : 1GB
    Bank0/1 - A0 : DIMM 512MB
    Bank2/3 - A1 : DIMM 512MB
    Bank4/5 - A2 : Empty
    Bank6/7 - A3 : Empty

    Chipset 1
    Model : Foxconn International Inc SiS741 CPU to PCI Bridge
    Bus(es) : ISA AGP PCI USB i2c/SMBus
    Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 167MHz (334MHz data rate)
    Maximum FSB Speed / Max Memory Speed : 2x 200MHz / 2x 200MHz
    Width : 64-bit
    IO Queue Depth : 7 request(s)

    Chipset 1 Hub Interface
    Type : MUTOL
    Width : 16-bit
    Full Duplex : No
    Multiplier : 1/1x

    Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
    Bank 0 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 2.5-3-3-9CL 2CMD
    Bank 1 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 2.5-3-3-9CL 2CMD
    Channels : 1
    Speed : 2x 167MHz (334MHz data rate)
    Multiplier : 1/1x
    Width : 64-bit
    Refresh Rate : 15.60µs
    Power Save Mode : No
    Fixed Hole Present : No

    Environment Monitor 1
    Model : ITE IT8705/12 ISA
    Mainboard Specific Support : No

    Temperature Sensor(s)
    Board Temperature : 44.0°C / 111.2°F td

    Cooling Device(s)
    Auto Fan Speed Control : No
    Chassis Fan Speed : 3590rpm

    Voltage Sensor(s)
    CPU Voltage : 1.58V
    Aux Voltage : 3.28V
    +3.3V Voltage : 2.88V
    +5V Voltage : 5.24V
    +12V Voltage : 8.42V
    -12V Voltage : -4.30V
    -5V Voltage : -3.25V
    Standby Voltage : 3.58V

    AGP Bus(es) on Hub 1
    Version : 3.05
    Speed : 8x
    Fast-Writes Enabled : No
    Isochronous Mode Enabled : No
    Addressing Enabled : 32-bit
    Aperture Size : 128MB

    PCI Bus(es) on Hub 1
    Version : 2.10
    Number of Bridges : 1
    PCI Bus 0 : PCI (1/1x PCIClk)

    LPC Hub Controller 1
    Model : Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS PCI to ISA Bridge (LPC Bridge)
    ACPI Power Management Enabled : Yes
    Multiplier : 1/4x

    USB Controller 1
    Model : Foxconn International Inc SiS5597/8 Universal Serial Bus Controller
    Version : 1.00
    Interface : OHCI
    Channels : 3
    Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
    Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

    USB Controller 2
    Model : Foxconn International Inc SiS5597/8 Universal Serial Bus Controller
    Version : 1.00
    Interface : OHCI
    Channels : 3
    Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
    Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

    USB Controller 3
    Model : Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS7002 USB 2.0 Enhanced Controller
    Version : 2.00
    Specification : 1.00
    Interface : EHCI
    Channels : 6
    Companion Controllers : 2
    Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps) High (480Mbps)
    Addressing Support : 32-bit
    Legacy Emulation Enabled : No

    System SMBus Controller 1
    Model : SiS 5595 Internal SMBus
    Advanced TCO Mode Enabled : No
    Slave Device Enabled : No
    PEC Support : No

    Expansion Slot(s)
    PCI0 (1h) : PCI 32-bit +5V PME Full-Length Available (Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS648FX PCI to AGP Bridge)
    PCI1 (2h) : PCI 32-bit +5V PME Full-Length Used (Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS PCI to ISA Bridge (LPC Bridge))
    PCI2 (3h) : PCI 32-bit +5V PME Full-Length Available (Foxconn International Inc SiS5597/8 Universal Serial Bus Controller)
    PCI3 (4h) : PCI 32-bit +5V PME Full-Length Available (Foxconn International Inc SiS900 10/100 Ethernet Adapter)
    AGP (8h) : AGP 32-bit +5V Full-Length Used (Nvidia Corp GeForce FX 5700VE [NV36.4])

    Port Connector
    PRIMARY IDE : None - ATA / None
    SECONDARY IDE : None - ATA / None
    FDD : 8251 FIFO - Floppy Disk / None
    COM1 : Serial Port 16450 - 9 Pin Dual Inline / DB-9 pin male
    COM2 : Serial Port 16450 - 9 Pin Dual Inline / DB-9 pin male
    LPT1 : Parallel Port ECP/EPP - DB-25 pin female / DB-25 pin female
    Keyboard : Keyboard - PS/2 / PS/2
    PS/2 Mouse : Mouse - PS/2 / PS/2
    USB0 : USB - None / None

    Performance Tips
    Warning 2533 : Disabled host controllers are present. Check BIOS settings.
    Notice 224 : SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
    Tip 2511 : Some memory slots are free so the memory can be easily upgraded.
    Warning 100 : Large memory sizes should be made of Registered/Buffered memory.
    Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.

    I'm not to familiar about cpu sizes an all that, but do know that the cpu i;m using jsut now is socket A lol let me know if my board cant take a A64 and i'll give you a link to a site where i wanna buy a board off of and you lot can tell me what one will go with it ;)

    ps youll notice down the bottom at performance tips its says "disabled host controllers present" i've looked in teh bios and cant find where to enable them. Can someone tell me where to do this, or even if its worth it.
     
  7. ripken204

    ripken204 TS Rookie Posts: 315

    im pretty sure it cant but im not an expert
     
  8. tbrunt3

    tbrunt3 TS Rookie Posts: 495

    you will need a socket 939 board not your current socket "A" board
     
  9. james_k1988

    james_k1988 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 290

    ooo

    o rite. well thats kl, id prefer a board that can take more RAM neways. So does anyone have any ideas on the host controlers bit at the bottom i mentioned??

    o and heres the site, pick out a gd one, but not 2 expensive but able 2 take the amd64 :angel:

    http://www.e-woc.co.uk/amd_motherboards.htm

    this is quite a cheap site an the shop is only 3 miles away from me so delivery should be el-cheapo
     
  10. tbrunt3

    tbrunt3 TS Rookie Posts: 495

    this is the best one they have there

    GIGABYTE K8NS ULTRA 939 NFORCE 4 250
     
  11. james_k1988

    james_k1988 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 290

    kool

    cool ill shoot for that one

    now what about this host controllers thing??
     
     
  12. tbrunt3

    tbrunt3 TS Rookie Posts: 495

  13. ripken204

    ripken204 TS Rookie Posts: 315

Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.